The McBride Homestead

a-wedding-picture-ii.jpg
On a post a while ago, Kym was discussing a walk she took at The Wildlife Refuge in Humboldt County.
I told her then that I’d been married there in the one hundred year old McBride homestead that was torn down a few years later.
Today, I decided to show the pictures from that day. It is a little sad that the history there is lost. There were names carved in the wooden beams and the floor boards creaked with age. It had a special feel to it and I’m eternally grateful I got married there.
It is also sad that my hair was that blonde and I think I went through three packs of cigarettes that day. LOL. Anyway, these pictures aren’t about the people in them (I have some better ones of the girls.) but about where it is.

a-wedding-picture-1.jpg

You can see the homestead as the background here.
a-wedding-picture-iii.jpg
I picked this one because of the view of the Wildlife Refuge behind it.

All these photographs were the brilliant work of Michael Ackerman who is talented and a wonderful friend.

10 Comments

Filed under Whatever category

10 responses to “The McBride Homestead

  1. jodi

    blonde is okay, lol. Very pretty place. 🙂

  2. Jen

    LOL. I was VERY blonde. Thanks Jodi.

  3. I just found your blog and love the title. :}

  4. Kym

    We loved the photos of the homestead ( and the wedding). What a beautiful place! I wish that I could have seen it in person.

  5. Kym

    BTW, I just clicked on Ackerman’s photos. Very Beautiful! He is very talented.

  6. Thanks for sharing your photos. It is sad to see places like that diminish. Ironically, I was flipping through TV channels the other day and saw a show called something along the lines of “My redneck wedding.” I instantly thought of you.

  7. Thanks for sharing the pictures. It’s a beautiful place, and sad that things like that get torn down. We should appreciate those old buildings more, but I guess sometimes they need to be torn down.

  8. Jen

    LOL Lothian! Some of those are a crack up!!!

    I’ll put a video up for you Sunday.

  9. Jen

    Emma, I never did find out why–termites, safety issues–but I do miss that old building.
    It’s tough to preserve it all. Humboldt county has done better than some.

  10. Thanks for sharing those Jen!

Leave a comment