Thirteen “Cheesy” Movies I Love.

christmas-tree-07.jpg
There’s the results from the tree decorating. Dogs and children both survived the ordeal.
This time of year brings out the “cheese” in me. I LOVE me some cheese every once and a while. My husband is often appalled.
Here’s thirteen “cheesy” movies I watch (usually alone)

1.Fifth Avenue Girl
Ginger Rogers without Fred and in a cute little romantic comedy that makes me sigh happily.

2. Mortal Combat
The worst part about this movie is that my “cheese” spread to Demolition Boy. He and I love this movie.

3. Comfort And Joy A Christmas favorite of mine…..and no one else’s. When it comes on Lifetime this year, see if you can watch it. Just don’t let any smart mouth rednecks catch you doing it. (Or buying it. Yep. I own this one.)

4. A Christmas Story I think there’s a lot of people who share my cheese with this one. Okay, Dayna. I know. Not you.

5. Scrooge
Another version of “A Christmas Carol”? What’s cheesy about that? Everyone watches one, right? Patrick Stewart’s portrayal or George C. Scott’s is someone’s favorite. Yeah? But are they MUSICALS? Figures I’d love the version with singing and dancing.

6. So Proudly We Hail
My patriotic cheese depicting nurses in the Red Cross during WWII. Bring Kleenex.

7. Apartment For Peggy If you’re lucky, you may stumble across this one in the VHS section of your video store. Otherwise, it’s hard to find. It took me four years to find a copy and it’s not even a good one. I love this movie, however. Back when AMC used to play the REAL old movies (much like Turner Classic Movies does now) this one would show up during William Holden’s birthday. If you can find it, you’ll be in cheese heaven.

8. The Die Hard Movies McClean is my hero. I love him. I just rented (and loved) “Live Free And Die Hard”. Total action cheese and I love it.

9. White Christmas and Holiday Inn
These two go together like Ranch Dressing and Mozzarella sticks. My favorites.

10 I Remember Mama If you’ve never seen this one, try and find it. Especially if you’re an aspiring writer. I love this movie.

11. The Mad Miss Manton Back when Barbara Stanwyck was young and very foolish playing opposite Henry Fonda before “The Lady Eve”.

12. Now Voyager
Probably the cheesiest Bette Davis allowed herself to be. Okay, except for “A Pocketful Of Miracles“. Another fab cheese movie.

13. Kiss Me Kate
Actually, I could do a TT on just the cheese musicals I watch when no one is around.

Confess! What’s your cheese?

31 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thirteen

31 responses to “Thirteen “Cheesy” Movies I Love.

  1. Sybil- is there any other kind of crazy?

    Gone with the Wind- “I’ll nevah go hungry again!” Every drama queen loves some Scarlett.

    Dr. Seuss “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas” because we all know a three decker toadstool sandwich with arsenic sauce.

    Ditto on the Christmas Story, and it never fails, when the kid eats the mashed potatoes “who’s Mamma’s little piggy?” I laugh until I cry and pee.

    Meg Ryan movies- particularly When Harry Met Sally and Sleepless in Seattle. Or French Kiss. Or When a Man Loves a Woman. I think you get the picture.

    It’s a Wonderful Life. I have no excuses for that.

  2. Ooo…you’ve got a few I don’t recognize. Must check them out…

  3. Execpt for the Die Hard movies, I don’t recognize the rest. Hehehe!

  4. oh Mortal Combat is the best movie…i use to love playing the video game when i was a kid

  5. What’s sad is that I have not seen one of your faves!
    I will have to remedy that!
    Great Thursday Thirteen, my list is up too and it’s about movies as well!

  6. Hey! A Christmas Story is not cheesey! I mean, not very cheesey. All right, it is, but it’s high quality cheese!

  7. Jen

    Oh VBC I LOVE Meg Ryan movies. I don’t call them cheese because I’ll admit I love them to most people. and I can usually find someone to watch them with me.
    Man, Tempest, hon! You need to come to my house for popcorn and hot cocoa!!! We’ll have what The Redneck calls a “Dumb Old Movie Festival”.
    Savannah, the movie is weird because IT was based on the video game, not the other way around. LOL.
    Hey Julie, I loved your list.

  8. Jen

    LOL Alice. I think what’s cheesy about “A Christmas Story” is we watch it A MILLION TIMES and can quote the thing verbatum.
    “You hosticlefifer!!!”
    “Football? What’s a Football”
    “You’ll shoot your eye out. You’ll shoot your eye out.”
    “Get the glue!” “We’re OUT of glue” “You used up all the glue on purpose!!”

  9. A Christmas Story and White Christmas are both holiday movies that I have to watch. Also, Christmas Vacation and just about any holiday movie made for the Hallmark Channel.

  10. I love Mortal Combat, too! LOL!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  11. So many great movies. I just reviewed the newest Die Hard movie last week. I loved it.

  12. Hey Jen,

    GREAT list. I’ve seen some and loved some and now I have something else to do instead of write! I want to see A CHRISTMAS STORY again. Love that one!!

    ~Harris.

  13. I love the Die Hard movies–and hey, the first 2 are Christmas movies! 🙂

  14. Sue

    Ah, a list as eclectic as you are! 🙂 You mention Scrooge, but have you seen Scrooged (with Bill Murray)?? OMG! I laugh so hard I almost pee myself. It is a must see at our house, along with Christmas Vacation. Then I totally switch gears and watch Miracle on 34th Street and It’s a Wonderful Life.

  15. I confess that I love spoof movies. Scary Movies, Date Movie. I love them. The more ridiculous the better.

  16. Favorite cheese at our house is A Knight’s Tale and Bring It On.

    Holiday Cheese? The animated Grinch — Max is just so cute.

    Happy TT, Jen! Mine’s up over at http://impulsivehearts.wordpress.com

  17. What Alice said about “A Christmas Story”! I can watch that one over and over again this time of year. Also like numbers 9 and 10. *G*

  18. Oh, man. James Bond movies (especially the older Sean Connery ones). Pass the cheese whiz, please. Love ’em! LOL!

  19. Holy moly! That’s more cheese than in the state of Wisconsin. (But I do love the Die Hard movies. 🙂 So you’re not alone.)

  20. i dont watch movies anymore…just… law and order… constant law and order…with sprinkles of CSI….
    i swear….im waiting for the “law and order channel”
    xoxo

  21. Great list Jen! I am a sap for all the Christmas classics this time of year.
    Happy Holidays!

  22. Kym

    Enjoyed your list. I’ll have to check a few out. I’ve never seen Mortal Combat but the music for the movie or video game is used in out martial arts class for incredibly hard workouts. So I think I’ll skip that one;>

  23. I love the old classic Christmas movies. Espeically if there one with Ginger Rogers and Fred in them. Or Frank is even better 😉

    Charles Dicken movies are always perfect for Christmas holidays to watch 🙂 And I’m fan of Die Hard movies too…

  24. I love the Die Hard movies and Kiss Me Kate. It’s not a movie, but I get a laugh out of watching the old Lost in Space series. It’s so funny and it used to scare me to death when I was a kid.

  25. The tree looks great Jen, we’re waiting until Goldfish gets back from vacation to get one – I hope Alaska Ship Supply doesn’t see out before then! Lately, nothing pulls my heart strings more than any movie with old folks – like The Notebook. Last night we watched Away From Her – that was a great movie. Goldfish sniffled the whole time . . . . tough guy might have gotten something in his contacts a couple times . . .

  26. Jen

    SB, I think that’s already here. They call it The USA channel (with TNT as a close second).
    Kym, I can relate. It’s the real reason I can’t listen to Madonna music anymore. I had an aerobics teacher who used it for torture–er workout music. Everytime I hear “Holiday” I feel the need to get down on my ass and start doing crunches.
    Old movies are my favorite. The video store here in town doesn’t even blink at my weird choices anymore. “Look she’s renting “The Matrix” “The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie”, “Dark Victory” and “The Manchurian Candidate.” (speaking of Frankie).
    Yep, they don’t even blink.
    Shelley, I never got to see the old “Lost In Space”. Can you believe it?
    And thanks Steve. The boys did a great job on the tree. Mmm I’ve never heard of “Away From Her”. I’ll have to check it out.

  27. Delicious. Some is cheddar, some is swiss. All are yummy… great list!

  28. Oh The Notebook was a tearjerker! I need to sit back and relax and catch up on my movies again…

  29. Pingback: Entertainment » Thirteen Cheesy Movies I Love. Jen’s Hot And Sweet Blog

  30. Pingback: Movie Quotes » Thirteen Cheesy Movies I Love. Jen’s Hot And Sweet Blog

  31. there are many new movies to watch this month, i would be going to the cinema and video rental store again “~.

Leave a comment