Whiskey Wednesday Book Review And A Rant

250px-crown_royal_-_box_bottle_bag.jpg
a-shot-of-whiskey.jpg
adtcoversmall.jpg
When former paratrooper Scott Riley returns home from World War II, he has one aim–to meet the girl of his dreams, Cassie Wright. Cassie has been his pen pal, and his light at the end of the tunnel through most of his war experience. He goes to her hometown on the Gulf Coast of Florida with marriage on his mind only to find that she has other plans for her future. A talented pianist, Cassie has been accepted to the prestigious music conservatory in Jacksonville. Will she give up her dreams for Scott, or will he chase hers?

This is the review I put up at The Book Club Forum. I also want to add one thing (that I’ll rant about after the review). I almost didn’t buy this book because it was self-pubbed. Very narrow minded and I think I missed out on a great story for a long time because of my attitude toward “self published” books.
Thanks to Lucinda, I’m much more open minded and a little sheepish for waiting so damn long to read this one.

I should have known this story would blow me away. After seeing excerpts from it for months, I finally broke down and bought it. I wasn’t disappointed.
Ms. Campbell brought characters from a bygone era to life and yanked me into a different world filled with innocence and gentle romance. It’s been a long time since a book has touched me in quite this way.
She avoided all the usual conflicts and resolves their feelings for each other fairly quickly in the story. But, as in real life, the conflicts they have externally keep them apart. The added emotion of Cassie’s relationship with her mother just made it all the sweeter.
My favorite scene is the confrontation between Scott and Cassie’s mother which Ms. Campbell handled with finesse. Let me just say I got lost in this era and the characters. It’s rare to find a historical set in this time and this author did it brilliantly.
I’ll be reviewing this on my blog but I wanted The Book Club Forum to get it first.
I’d recommend this book if you’re looking for a romance with a sweet flavor.

It’s on Amazon

Or check it out at L.K Campbell

Now, for the rant. I know I’m not the only one who has this prejudice against “self published” books. Thanks to many unscrupulous epublishers and self publishing companies, the smaller press community has gotten a few black eyes in the past few years.
But that’s no reason to assume that something isn’t crafted well. To be honest, it was L.K. Campbell herself that had me forking out cash for her book. Her online presence is intelligent, thoughtful and caring. Her book was no different.
There is two things I’ve learned from this. One, self-published doesn’t mean the book isn’t crafted brilliantly. Two, online presence really does make a difference.
So, I’m raising a glass to you, L.K. Campbell. Your book is a clear example of how a person’s professional behavior online can translate into creating fans.
You’ve created one in me.

11 Comments

Filed under Great Books, Whiskey Wednesday

11 responses to “Whiskey Wednesday Book Review And A Rant

  1. I’m equally bad Jen, but not that it was self-pubbed, just that I’m getting worse and worse at finding time TO read. (Buying never seems to be a problem though. *wink*)

    But thanks to your heartfelt hurrah! I’m definitely moving it up on the TBR list.

    Yay to you L.K.! Here’s to many more!

  2. I completely agree with you. Before setting up my forum, I only ever picked up the heavily marketed books in the stores.

    Since running the forum, I have discovered some great books, and great authors. Some are self published, some by very small publishers.

    Also, an online presence can make a difference.. when I come across an author with a lovely personality, I’m inclined to hunt out their books.

    Thanks for the review.. I might see if I can track it down myself. 🙂

    PS How’s the cold?

  3. Thank you so much for your kind words—not only about my book but about my character. Squeeee!!!

  4. Jen

    Diana, I know what you mean. The worst part for me is the number of ebooks on my computer I’ve purchased and not read yet.
    Michelle, one of the best things about being an author is the number of fabulous writers I’ve gotten to meet. I’ve really been privileged to have met them.
    Just the facts, Lucinda, just the facts.

  5. great post. There is prejudice. It sucks, too. Especially when I pick up a mainstream NY hardback and wonder who the hell ever let this one get through the wringer.

    I look forward to reading A Different Tune. I’m off to amazon right now. Shh. Don’t tell! Buying books could become addicting…

  6. I’ve always been pro-selfpub. I guess it comes from my “punk” attitude as a musician. *lol* Back in the late 70s many musicians recorded their own music without the need for a recording contract. Listeners are always more willing to give these self-released albums a chance. Lots of great bands began like that (Def Leppard, Iron Maiden, REM, etc.)

    However, within the book/writing community, I’ve seen a more traditionalist attitude. When I started immersing myself in it, I soon learned that you could only be considered an author if your book was published by a publisher. A big publishing company. In book format. According to many readers and authors, ebook format doesn’t count. The stigma that if it’s self-published and epublished then it’s a bad book prevails. I was totally disappointed with the whole book/writing community. It’s sad how many people are missing out on good stories due to their prejudices. The funny thing is that many of the great authors of our times self-published their own works. Take Walt Whitman. *shrugs*

  7. Jen

    I didn’t know that about Walt Whitman. I do know that unconsciously I followed along with the opinion that a “real” book was in print with a NY publisher. How totally wrong I was.
    And Morgan, I do the same thing! I’ve read some pretty awful NY pubbed books.

  8. I think the *impression* surrounding ebooks is that it’s easy to do.. and therefore it’s going to be used by writers who can’t get a publisher to take them on. Therefore.. the quality is going to be poor.

    It wasn’t until I started to get involved with writers that I started to question my own impressions.

  9. I used to have the same attitude, but now I’ve had the pleasure of reviewing several self-published books (both Lulu and other self-publishers) and have had my eyes opened wide with the wealth of excellent writers out there going it alone and having more control over their own material. I know it’s tough for new and self-published writers to get recognition for their work and they have a lot of hard work getting publicity and marketing for their books, but being self-published shouldn’t mean their work is seen as less worthy or not as good as books published by recognised publishers (in fact, several of the self-published books I’ve read and reviewed have been WAY better than those I’ve read that have won major literary prizes and been pushed in the media by the big publishing houses!).

  10. Jen

    Exactly, Kell. As a small press author myself, you’d think I’d have smartened up sooner.
    When I started thinking about my favorite books this year, I realized that most of them were epublished or small press or self published.
    I’ll be talking about that tomorrow on my Thursday Thirteen.

  11. Pingback: Thirteen Books That Surprised Me. « Jen’s Hot And Sweet Blog

Leave a comment