Whiskey Wednesday. I READ a book. Really read it.




As a author, one of the things I miss is the ability to just read a book. I’m not dissecting it to see what the author was trying to do or not do. I’m not wondering how I would twist that plot.

For many reasons, I’ve been “blah”. Only two things have lifted me out of my little funk. One is this book. I bought it based on the blurb. I’d never heard of Matthew Reilly but apparently he’s really big. I sat down, hoping to read an action adventure with some interesting history thrown in and he got me.

He sucked me right into the book. The grammar didn’t matter. The Point Of View/show vs. tell/plausibility didn’t matter. The internal editor went on vacation. What a freakin relief. The book’s premise is that the Great Pyramid at Giza had a solid gold capstone. This capstone has a purpose other than being a pretty decoration. It saves the world from massive devastation from a natural phenomenon. Reilly puts forth brilliant ideas and details them with READABLE step by step instructions. In other words, he didn’t lose me with the details. If there were errors, I didn’t notice. The story was compelling complete with strong, sympathetic characters and a great twisted ending.

I read it in one sitting.

This, of course, has me searching for his other books. It’s rare that I find a book that draws me in this way. Robert Ludlum did it with the Bourne books (which are darker and more thoughtful than the blockbuster movies but I love the movies too) and Terry Brooks did it with the Shannara series.

So, I’m raising a shot of whiskey to you, Matthew Reilly. For a guy who is thirty-three and has six best sellers (one written by the time he was nineteen) it looks like you’ve just begun.

You can find the book HERE
and Matthew Reilly HERE

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Whiskey Wednesday. I READ a book. Really read it.

  1. Lefty

    I love the Bourne books. Good stuff.

  2. T. Sue VerSteeg

    Damn that internal editor! I know how you feel. This is awesome that you were able to sink into a good book and REALLY enjoy it!! *sigh* the perils of being a writer…

  3. Jennifer McK

    I didn’t know how Hollywood was going to deal with Jason Bourne, but I’ve decided that they did it perfectly.
    And Toni Sue, I keep hoping I can stop the internal editor. It’s amazing how it leaves when I need it. *rolls eyes*

  4. Pingback: Another One Of My Weird Author Finds. « Jen’s Hot And Sweet Blog

Leave a comment