Thirteen Of My Favorite Romantic Movies

It’s Valentine’s Day tomorrow and I thought I’d share some of my favorite romantic movies that I watch.

1.  Fifth Avenue Girl (1939)

This movie depicts the way a marriage can change and how love can begin by a chance meeting…..between the heroine and the hero’s father.  LOL!  It’s an awesome move.

2.  Love Actually (2003)

I think I love the way this movie shows the various faces of love-married love, unrequited love and crazy love.  I adore this movie.

3.  You’ve Got Mail (1998)

I love the way these two hate/love each other.

4.  Persuasion (1995)

This movie shows the reward for patience.  When you know it’s right, it’s right.

5.  The Mummy (1999)

This movie is the best of both worlds. It has all the action/paranormal stuff I love but gives me an adorable love story too.  I adore it.

6. Addicted To Love (1997)

I think this movie really gets to the heart of what makes us fall in love with each other.  Is it proximity?  Is it something else?

7.  The Philadelphia Story (1940)

This movie has so many layers to it that I’ve watched it a million times and gotten something different every time.  It’s one of my favorites.

8.  The Quiet Man (1952)

This movie is one of my absolute favorite John Wayne movies.  He and Katherine Hepburn burn up the screen in my opinion.  And the fight scene?  The. Best.

9. The Truth About Cats And Dogs (1996)

This is such a great romance and has the funny, quirky stuff I adore.

10.  Secretary (2002)

Not everyone will find this a romance to their taste.  It’s about damaged, kinky people who find each other and heal.  I love it and James Spader is SEXY in this one.

11.  Ten Things I Hate About You (1999)

When Kat reads her poem at the end…..OMG….I love this movie.

12.  To Have And To Have Not (1944)

I don’t know that this would have worked with any other two actors, but Bacall and Bogart are STEAMING in this one.  Plus, it’s got a ton of action.  I like my romance with bullets and explosions.  LOL!

13.  The Long Hot Summer (1958)

This is one of the most smoking, awesome romances ever.  It has all the angst, but it gives me a happy ending.  And Paul Newman?  OMG.  So hot in this.

9 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thirteen

9 responses to “Thirteen Of My Favorite Romantic Movies

  1. Hmm. You’ve got some I love and some I’ve never seen. I’m going to have to check out some of the new-to-me titles. Thanks.

    http://www.miaceleste.com/?p=312

  2. Love The Mummy and Love Actually!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

    • Jen

      Those are such great movies. I do love all three of the Mummy movies. I think I’ll have to rent them this weekend. (I have them on VHS. How sad is that? LOL)

  3. Sue

    What?! No mention of Pretty Woman?!
    *clutched pearls*
    I feel faint.
    😉

    Great list otherwise. 🙂

    • Jen

      HA! then you’d better lay down for this. I don’t like that movie. LOL!!!! I’m not sure what it is. I know. I’m weird. You love me anyway though.

  4. The Mummy and Love Actually are favorites of mine. I love both of these and rewatch them quite often.

  5. Some good movies on this list, sorry I missed it last week. I’m with you on 2-4 and 7-9. 😉

Leave a Reply

