Thirteen Things I Know About Sara Bareilles

…and I won’t even go to Wikipedia to find them.

Most of you know my love for all things Joey W. Hill.  And Sherlock (SEASON 3 JANUARY 19!!).  But you may not know my love for Sara Bareilles.  I’m not a person who learns about an artist if I love them, I just enjoy their art.  But Sara was someone special and I’ve ended up finding out a lot about her.  The first song I heard by her was “Gravity” and I fell in love.  It’s been an ongoing love fest (one sided) ever since.

1.  Sara was born and raised in Humboldt County

Which is where I live.

2.  She’s hilarious!

3.  She went to UCLA and was a communications major

I got that from her videos.  LOL!

4.  She had a relationship with one of her bandmates

I don’t remember his name, but in 2012, she parted with her entire band probably because of him.

5.  She loves Taylor Swift

6.  She does a lot of Elton John covers

So I think she really likes him too.  Her version of Yellow Brick Road is amazing.

7.  She wrote “Brave” for a friend who she was encouraging to come out

8.  She does commercials for CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates)

I think her parents are involved in CASA in Humboldt and she does the commercials for them.

9.  She recently moved from Los Angeles to New York

She wrote “The Blessed Unrest” her new album under the influence of New York’s energy.

10.  She has had her fans get up on stage and sing with her.

There’s more than one instance that she’s done special stuff for her fans.  She’s pretty amazing.

11.  She did a duet with her sister 

She sang “Love Is Christmas” in San Francisco with one of her sisters.

12.  She taught herself to play piano

Which is pretty fantastic when you hear her.

13. She’s been nominated for a Grammy

She totally deserves it.  She tours relentlessly and has a unique connection with her fans.  I heart Sara!!!

8 Comments

Filed under My Music Obsession, My YouTube Obessession, Thursday Thirteen

8 responses to “Thirteen Things I Know About Sara Bareilles

  1. All the reasons I like her too.

  2. Gee, I never would have guessed from all the videos posted that you like this artist — with good reason. 😀

    My T13

  3. I feel like such a moron because I’ve never heard of her until now. I really need to get out more. LOL. Happy Thursday, Jen!

    • Jen

      Well, that’s one of the reasons I love to do music for TT’s because I hear some awesome stuff on OTHER people’s blogs. (*cough* Alice Audrey *cough*). I love discovering new stuff.

  4. Shelley Munro

    LOL I might have guessed you like her too. Heather’s right it’s pretty obvious! I think she’s great – very talented, and I love her music.

Leave a Reply

