A Thanksgiving Thirteen Thursday

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! As we indulge in our turkey (free range or otherwise) or whatever fare we’ve cooked today (if you’re American. If you’re Canadian or Aussie, bear with me.) I’m hoping to remember what the day is for.
Most of us know the history of Thanksgiving, that the English colonists were from a culture that celebrated after the harvest a day of Thanksgiving. In America, the day took on a more poignant feeling since many of their fellow colonists did not survive to that first celebration.
And that’s kind of how I feel this year. It was a tough one, but somehow, The Redneck and I pulled it out and survived so far. I’m calling that a win.
Here’s 13 things I’m thankful for.

1. To be an American
What that means to me is the things I take for granted: A bed, warm clothes, shoes, food. Even if I was down and out, there are generous people who provide the basics for those in need. What an awesome country to live in.
2. The Redneck
There weren’t going to be many out there with horns on their head to match the holes in mine, but his do.
3. Train Boy
My oldest, 12 now, is turning into one of the best human beings I know. I can count on him to help me out while Dad works out of town.
4. Demolition Boy
He makes me laugh and I love just hanging out with him. I actually love hanging out with both kids. They’re awesome.
5. I’m employed
Considering the economy, I’m extremely grateful for my job. I may not love it, but I’m glad to have it.
6. I still have my house
It hasn’t been easy and things may change, but so far, we’ll still here.
7. My writing
This year has been tough writing wise, but I’m so grateful for the books I have out and the books I’m writing. I don’t always feel grateful, but most of the time, I am.
8. Scouting
Believe it or not, even though I complain and get frustrated, I do love Scouting. It’s time with my kids that has been precious to me.
9. My husband’s job
Lately, this one has been more challenging. The Redneck has had a tough year too with his work, but he IS still employed.
10. My Sisters
The Millionaire’s Wife and The Minister’s Wife both sent awesome gifts to the boys for their birthday. We don’t have a lot of money this year, so their gifts were appreciated. They NEVER forget my kids. They are amazing.
11. My Friends
There are a lot of people who carried my ass this year. Melissa, Michelle, Toni Sue, Kate Pearce, and Kristin Kennedy especially. I’m so lucky to have the people I have in my life.
12. Music
Music plays a big part of my life. I’m thankful it’s there for me to inspire me, to tap into emotions, to lift me up or give feelings an outlet.
13. Where I live
I love where I live. Humboldt County is beautiful and the town I live is the best place to live in my humble opinion.

I love Thanksgiving. Today, I hope all my American friends have a great day.

4 Comments

Filed under Humboldt County, My Music Obsession, Thursday Thirteen

4 responses to “A Thanksgiving Thirteen Thursday

  1. Those are all wonderful things to be thankful for, Jen. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! *Hugs*

  2. It’s good to see people who recognize the good in a year full of ups and downs.

    Happy TT – and Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. So many wonderful things to be thankful for…Happy Thanksgiving..

  4. I hope you and your family had a good Thanksgiving, Jennifer!

Leave a Reply

