Happy Labor Day! And my Birthday present….

Though many people only know the angry Alanis Morissette from “Jagged Little Pill”, she’s grown and changed over the years. I own everything she’s made and love her as much today as I did back in the 90’s.
For my birthday, the Redneck bought me “Havoc and Bright Lights”, her latest. This song, a total departure for her, touches me.

“Til You”

I’ve been wasting time
Clawing my way to you
Taking no prisoners with my romantic crimes
I’ve been holding on imagining glimpses of you
Holding my breath while you come down the pike

Spinning my wheels around
I’m here, dodging bullets til you
Ear to the ground
I’m here, dodging bullets til you

I’ve been taking notes
Nursing the thought of you
Research and deliver ’cause I’m biding my time
I’ve been holding on this magnet that calls to you
Entertaining myself with these consolation prizes

Spinning my wheels around
I’m here, dodging bullets til you
Ear to the ground
I’m here, dodging bullets til you

They’ve become too fond
But mere placeholders for you
They fill the stance card
As you form in my mind

Spinning my wheels around
I’m here, dodging bullets til you
Ear to the ground
I’m here, dodging bullets til you

Til you

1 Comment

Filed under My Music Obsession, My YouTube Obessession, Whatever category

One response to “Happy Labor Day! And my Birthday present….

  1. Happy early birthday, my friend! *smooches*

Leave a Reply

