Christmas Reflection

For those of you who follow this blog, here’s a little Christmas card of music. It’s not a Christmas song and it’s not my usual fare, but I’ve always loved it and it’s always made me feel good.

“It’s hope beyond what we can see.”
I just found out yesterday that someone who I had known in the program, someone the Redneck had fished for years ago, took his own life. He’d been very sick and depressed. There had been many who reached out to him, offering him love, offering him a place to rest his worries, to lay them down. But he couldn’t let himself be a part of it, couldn’t seem to connect with the beauty, the breath of glory.
If we look, if we seek it, everywhere there is evidence of love. I have always struggled with faith. Not belief. I believe. But I struggle to have faith that it will all be okay, that I can rely on something more powerful than me rather than my own strength.
This time of year, I see more than any other time, the way people give, they love. Of course, the opposite is true too. I can see selfishness and fear. But that’s why I love this song by “First Call”. Because the evidence of love is everywhere.
Yet, it is so hard to see especially this time of year filled with “busy” and stress. I heard another song that actually spoke to me and I share it with you along with this wish.
May you see the joy of Christmas, the light in a child’s eyes, the laughter in your spouse’s, the bright twinkle of love that this season represents. May your burdens-even for a moment-be lighter. May your heart be given a reprieve from the human concerns that trouble all of us. Just a moment of peace. That’s what I wish for you.

Merry Christmas, everyone.

3 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Letters from a Redneck

3 responses to “Christmas Reflection

  1. Tina Seitz

    I am so sorry to hear….My thoughts and prayers are with the family and family who lost. These 2 songs are great…Merry Christmas And remember a New Year is right around the corner…(after my Birthday that is…….)
    *hugs*

  2. Jen

    Thanks Tina!!! I didn’t realize your birthday was coming up!!! WOO HOO!

  3. Hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

