Thirteen Christmas Movies We Watch

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been this long since I’ve blogged. I blame the Humboldt Crud. Anyway, starting at Thanksgiving, our family watches Christmas movies. Some of them more than once. We love Christmas around here.
1. A Christmas Story
This one comes out at Thanksgiving and we usually watch it a few times before the end of the season. This year, we saw the play which was FABULOUS put on by the Northcoast Repertory Theater.
2. Lilies of the Field
I don’t know why we play this one. It’s not really a Christmas movie, but we love it.
3. Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer
*sings* We’re a couple of misfits……CLASSIC. The kids still love to watch this one.
4. The Little Drummer Boy
This one isn’t my favorite, but we still watch it every year.
5. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
For some reason, this is still one of my favorite classics.
6. The Polar Express
We resisted seeing this in theaters because of the hype, but then we saw it and WOW! It became an instant classic for us. Now we have to watch it every season.
7. How The Grinch Stole Christmas
I LOVE this one.
8. Miracle on 34th St.
This wasn’t a classic for me or my husband, but for some reason, it’s kind of become one. Weird huh? I love this story and Maureen O’Hara is fantastic in this.
9. It’s A Wonderful Life
I remember back in the old days when this coming on TV was an EVENT. I can only watch it once a year, but I do make sure I watch it.
10. A Charlie Brown Christmas
A least once. Usually more than once.
11. Scrooge
Best version of Dicken’s classic. It’s a musical too. LOL! I’m actually reading “A Christmas Carol” to the boys right now and realized this movie version is the closest I’ve seen to Dicken’s story.
12. Comfort and Joy
You know that series they put on Lifetime “Falalala”? They made that for me. Yep. Check out Hulu’s “Lifetime” movies right now and the top ones are all Christmas. “Comfort and Joy” was one of my favorites from watching Lifetime’s collection. (Also loved “His and Her Christmas”) And yes, I have to force my family to watch. LOL!
13. The Nutcracker
Surprisingly, my youngest loves this one.

What about you? What brings in the season for you? “Christmas Vacation”? Which Christmas Carol?

7 Comments

Filed under Holidays, My Hulu Time Suck, Thursday Thirteen

7 responses to “Thirteen Christmas Movies We Watch

  1. For me it’s It’s a Charlie Brown Christmas. For my dh, it’s Scrooge.

  2. Love Rudolph and The Nutcracker!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  3. Xakara

    It’s a Wonderful Life and Miracle on 34th Street are two I grew up with that have made it to our current traditions. A Christmas Story and Scrooged are now two of the bigger ones we watch every year.

    Happy T13,

    ~Xakara
    13 Pieces of Eye Candy

  4. One year after seeing The Exorcist, I came home wishing I could scrub my brain out with a toothbrush. I picked up Miracle on 34th Street and was washed clean by its pure joy. Still is a favorite.

  5. angel Graham

    I’ve seen most of those, but not that particular version of Scrooge. Will have to try to find it. Great list.

    My T13: http://angelgrahamauthor.wordpress.com/2011/12/08/thursday-thirteen-december-8-2011/

  6. Um, I don’t think I’ve watched a single one of these. My Christmas movie is Love Actually. Hubby likes this one too.

  7. I have to see if I can find the Charlie Brown Christmas on the ‘net somewhere so I can show it to my hubby. That’s the one I miss most, I think. We also watch Love, Actually – he enjoys it as much as I do, I think. For different reasons, though. 😉

    Happy Belated TT!

Leave a Reply

