Normally I wouldn’t, but Check Out These Lovely Parents.

I almost hate to give these jerks more hits on their site, but check this out and click on the video for “English Teacher Writes Racy Novels”.
Apparently, an Ellora’s Cave author has been “outed” by her ever uptight and judgmental community where she lives in Pennsylvania. Congratulations Synder County. I’ve never heard of you until now. And listen to Kelli Hornburger concerned that an author would view her son as material for a racy book.
First of all, let me say this. As an erotic author, I will tell you there is a HUGE difference between Erotic romance and PEDOPHILIA and clearly, you, Ms Hornburger, do not understand the difference. Let me see if I can explain it to you.
Sex between consensual adults with a happy ending and a lot of spice is called “Erotic Romance”. You may have been missing this in your life. That, however, is not the fault of the author. If you choose to limit yourself to your closed minded sex life, that’s fine. Please do not force the rest of us into your way of thinking.
Viewing anyone under the age of 18 as potential material for erotic novels? That’s inappropriate and called PEDOPHILIA. To imply that this author did that is a serious charge and you’d better back that up with some evidence.
Now, considering you claimed you don’t write OR READ erotic romance, you are completely unaware of its content or its intent. Also, to imply that a teacher’s personal life would affect her professional life (in that she would behave inappropriately) would eliminate teachers who are political supporters of things I don’t agree with-such as rabid environmentalism, anti-gun laws and other things.
The fact is that your comments have clearly shown that you are unable to see beyond your own narrow-minded and bigoted viewpoint. The fact that several other parents agree with you only shows that mob mentality is still alive and well in Synder County.
Ms. Hornburger, you say you want to take a stand. Against what? Against a teacher who has an outside job that is not up to your “high standards”? If she wrote a “Women’s Fiction” novel like “The Red Tent” with its sexual content and violence, I’ll bet you’d keep your mouth shut. But because it’s not something YOU like, you’ll trash her.
I’d like you to consider the ramifications of what you’ve just done. You’ve destroyed this teacher’s teaching career. Perhaps you feel proud of that. But really? Should you be? Or are you just a belittling, ugly person seeking to drag another person down because she’s doing something you don’t approve of.
*shakes head* It’s a sad day when THIS is how parents become involved in education.

4 Comments

Filed under Letters from a Redneck, Life Stuff, Writing

4 responses to “Normally I wouldn’t, but Check Out These Lovely Parents.

  1. People are so close minded and really have no idea what they are talking about….I think it is shameful with what they are doing.

  2. Denise

    Those parents are hypocrites, I bet you any money these people do read/watch stuff like that. It’s only human nature, it’s very natural. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Wow… nice post. I will take your word for it and not give them the hits they want. As a parent albeit a liberal one, I would be just thankful to have an English teacher who has a passion for writing. When it comes to “outing” anyone, all I can say is shame on you. Why do these people think they have the right? I don’t get it. If I had the talent, maybe I would write erotica. My husband would also love a brainstorming session, but I am just too tired. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

