Thirteen Songs To Kick Ass And Take Names This Year

Some of these are definitely NSFW. But all year, I look for songs to inspire me. These are the ones for this year.
1. PERFECT
I strongly suggest you watch the video. It’s almost painful, but sooooo damn true. And I could relate.
2. RAISE YOUR GLASS
I love this song. The vid? A little weird, but, well, that’s Pink. LOL! Again, it speaks to those of us who are “wrong in all the right ways”. I think my favorite part of the video is a bit sacrilegious so I won’t go into details. LOL!
3. FIREWORK
Another song AND video that inspires me. It surprised me that Katy Perry came out with this, but I love it.
4. LIFE MUST GO ON
Lots of Alter Bridge’s new stuff speaks to me. There’s a sense of desperate need to be connected,to belong. This song has inspired me to reach out, to keep trying.
5. BREATHE AGAIN
This CD by Alter Bridge has been one of the best things to come my way.
6. WRECK YOUR WHEELS
Kim Richey has a different way of inspiring me. She focuses my soul. I can’t put it any other way.
7. WORD TO THE WISE
This is her official site where you can hear this song.
8. FIGHT INSIDE
Here’s another band that seems to understand the internal struggle in me.
9. ORDINARY WORLD
I never liked this song when Duran Duran did it, but Red has given it new life for me. And the video is visually stunning! Totally worth clicking.
10. I’M NOT AFRAID
Eminem often speaks to me, uplifts me. I don’t know why and I don’t question it.
11. NEVER SAY NEVER
Okay. I know it’s little boy rock, but still. Love the words.
12. SOMETHING TO BELIEVE IN
I like this one. Parachute is a new one on me, but I love this song.
13. JUST THE WAY YOU ARE
I find myself singing this one. I love it. *happy sigh*

15 Comments

Filed under My Music Obsession, My YouTube Obessession, Thursday Thirteen

15 responses to “Thirteen Songs To Kick Ass And Take Names This Year

  1. I only know a few of these, but I always like Pink. 🙂 Good stuff!

    Happy TT!

  2. I like “I’m Not Afraid”. Great list!

  3. I don’t know any of those, except “Just the Way You Are” but only if it’s the song by Bruno Mars. Love that song!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  4. I think the only one I’ve heard before is “Something to Believe in.” Might have to check out a few later. 😉

  5. Love the music..I see you are a P!nk fan..Love her…

  6. Jen

    When she first came out, I LOVED her. Then, she got a bit too…political for me. Her last CD missed me entirely. But I’m lovin’ the new stuff from her Greatest Hits CD.

  7. What Kimberley said. We’re not dead yet, just a little out of touch! LOL Keep us in line, Jenn!

  8. I don’t know many of these. I did like Parachute. That was a good one.

  9. I didn’t know any of these – well except the Justin Beieber one and only because it was on the Karate Kid soundtrack. LOL

    But I do like the first one – I can relate. I will have to work through them. But since my tastes run to Classic Rock, Contemporary Christian and Country I don’t see us overlapping much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

