Thirteen Things I Miss About Texas

Yesterday, I had some issues with my cable T.V. and ended up talking quite a bit to a couple of techs in Texas. It had me reminiscing about the two years I spent in Abilene, Texas. There are things I miss.
1. The Accent
The woman in the video reminds me of some of the women at First Baptist Church of Abilene, Texas.
2. Texas towns
I always tell the story about taking a Greyhound Bus from Abilene to Dallas/Ft. Worth and we stopped in Strawn, Tx. Their Greyhound station was a Greyhound station on a dumpster. By the looks of this map, they’ve grown. They have a Greyhound “stadium” now. LOL!
3. The Snow
Though I’d SEEN snow (in Tahoe, California) but Abilene was the first time I’d ever LIVED in snow. I kind of miss it. Not enough to move…..LOL!
4. Chicken Fried Steak
5. Abilene sports
6. The High School Band
7. Hardin-Simmons University Choir
I was in it for two wonderful years.
8. and Abilene Christian University wasn’t bad either
9. Gardski’s
OMG!!! First place I ever had cheesesticks. First place I learned that ordering “Iced Tea” means you have to specify NOT SWEET. Best. Place. EVAH.
10. Po Folks
First place I had Fried Okra. Mmmmmm. I also drank Ice Tea out of a mason jar. Makes me happy thinking about it.
11. McMurry University
12. The Rain
The storms in Texas are amazing. Intense, strong and dramatic. Abilene, when I lived there, didn’t really have a “drainage” system. They were dips in the road, really.
13. The Dancing
First time I ever did the two-step, the cotton-eyed Joe and this one. *happy sigh* Good memories.

10 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thirteen

10 responses to “Thirteen Things I Miss About Texas

  1. Thanks for commenting on my crafty post–I’m glad you liked it. *G* Texas is one state (of many) I have yet to visit, though I was this close the year I visited my sister in Louisiana. Maybe some day…

  2. I haven’t visited Texas yet. You make it sound fun πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve only been to Houston, because that’s where my husband’s oncologist is. We were kind of disappointed the first time we went because we didn’t see the first cowboy hat. LOL You must have to go further into Texas to see some real cowboys. πŸ™‚

  4. I was stationed in San Antonio when I was in the army. My brother was in Abilene. Not all that close, and very different cultures, from what I could tell. On Christmas Eve people were washing their cars in shorts in San Antonio but were wearing parkas in Abilene. Strange state, Texas. I actually don’t miss it. But since the windchill is -42 right now in North Dakota, I could use a little Texas sun right now. πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks for sharing! Fun post, dear. Happy TT!

  6. Hopefully you can visit there again!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  7. I haven’t had chicken-fried-steak in years. YEARS!

    …sigh… I do miss that. πŸ˜‰

    Happy TT!

  8. I haven’t been to Texas yet, but I really like Chicken Fried Steak and we just make it ourselves. We only make it once or twice a year though, but mmm mmm good!

  9. I’ve never been to Texas, but I do like the accent. Sweet tea is just that – too sweet! I didn’t know you could sing though…..this demands a video you know!

  10. I have never been to Texas but it seems like a great place…

Leave a Reply

