Maybe, it just isn’t going to make sense Just Sayin’

To The Media
Riveted, I watched the coverage of the horrific attempted assassination of Representative Gabrielle Gifford of Arizona. I watched the immediate jump that most everyone (and I’ll admit even me) made that it was politically motivated–either by the rabid left that abhorred Gifford’s compromising style (not voting for Pelosi for example) or the rabid right who had gun sites to “target” certain politicians who didn’t agree with them. Turns out, it was just a wackjob who wanted to create his own currency and thought everyone in Arizona was illiterate. Here’s what I think. I think both sides-whether it’s MoveOn.org or Sarah Palin–have their fair share of inflammatory language. Do I think Sarah Palin is responsible for the attempted murder of Gabrielle Gifford? No. Anymore than I believe Metal Music made anyone commit suicide. Do I think Sarah Palin was RIGHT to put gun sites over a person’s face? Um, no. I am also not going to “support a candidate” by “shooting an M16” with him. But then again, some of the leftist rhetoric hasn’t exactly been love and rainbows. That said, trying to tag a lunatic’s ramblings as politically motivated is an exercise in futility.
I had a conversation with a friend of mine on Twitter about this (in a totally different context). The hardest thing for another human being to accept is that a person’s beliefs, sexual orientation or political affiliation isn’t black or white, straight or gay, right or left. We’re almost always somewhere in the middle. Perhaps, if we live and let live, each person allowed to be themselves as long as they don’t infringe on someone else, everyone will find the courage to be exactly who they are and find peace of mind. I’m convinced that the violence, the anger, the vicious bitter words come from a place of discontent–the not knowing oneself. I know that’s true for me. When something pisses me off, I need to look at the root of my anger. Why do I get so angry about certain things? But many people won’t look beyond their own sense of rightness, moral outrage or absolute certainty.
I’ve always said the death brings out the best and the worst in all of us. Gabrille Gifford’s tragic shooting is no different.
Just Sayin’
To The Redneck
I’m calling the doctor. I know you think you understand, but you don’t. I love you, but I can’t count on you to take care of me. And I’m not waiting around for you to do it. Why, in God’s name, would I do that when you’ve shown time and again that you won’t?
Just sayin’
To My Characters
Really? Change the beginning? Are we that desperate? I mean, if you don’t remember what the hell happens next, I can understand that. But giving me two scenes IN THE BEGINNING of the story? ARGGHHHH!
Just sayin’

1 Comment

Filed under Conversations With My Characters, Just Sayin

One response to “Maybe, it just isn’t going to make sense Just Sayin’

  1. R.J.

    It was a great chat. I enjoyed it. I hope you’re online midday so I can tell you what I’m going to do to an attorney. Legally. 😉

Leave a Reply

