A Is Silly Season In Cub Scouts Over Yet Just sayin’?

To My Fellow Cub Scout Parent Volunteers
There’s a silly season in NASCAR where everyone changes sponsors, changes drivers, changes organizations and everything goes haywire. In Cub Scouts, it begins in August with the advent of Popcorn sales. Complete with the ridiculous corn cob hat. Yes, the person in charge of popcorn for each pack is called the “Popcorn Colonel.” (Or Kernel depending on your level of humor. I lost mine about three weeks into it.) Then, there’s way too many “Show and Sells” where we stand outside of business and say “Would you like to buy some popcorn to support scouting?” And it isn’t easy. Some of you have stepped up, volunteered, done your part. I thank you. I don’t know who was the brilliant architect of our Silly Season. Who had the absolutely stunning idea to start popcorn in the summer? And who decided it would be ever so smart to begin sales at the beginning of the school year? I know it’s probably because everyone wants their stuff for Christmas, but seriously? UGH. I can only tell you that I cannot WAIT for Silly Season to be over. Though I will say the popcorn is awesome.
Just Sayin’
To The Asshole Operator
Okay, to be clear. Coming into the office and apologizing? Win. Coming in, apologizing and then, basically telling me that you’re not really sorry? LOSER! Dude, you can say it’s not personal until you’re blue in the face. You can say you never meant to offend me. But when you call other districts ALL OVER Northern California to bitch about ME? Personal. Now, let me say a few of the things I wanted to say, but didn’t want to get fired for saying when you came in. You’ve got too much fucking time on your hands. If you think spending your time bitching about this is worthwhile, then you’re an idiot. I don’t care who you are, or who your father was, or whatever bullshit you’ve pulled to get away with this. The point is, it’s a done deal. You don’t have to like it, but it isn’t going to change. If you want change, I suggest you get hired on in a position that gives you some leverage. Right now, you’re just pissing in the wind. Believe me. I know. Want to know how? Because I fight the same bullshit EVERY DAY! While you’re dissing me all over the operation, I’m working my ass off to try and make life easier for the guys you claim you’re trying to help. Have you ever informed another operator about the Good Standing Fund? Have you tried to help another member get his health insurance worked out? Have you ever done a damn thing besides complain? My suggestion? Move.
Just Sayin’
To Coach Ed
Tough loss yesterday. Curry (in Brookings, Or) brought their A game and we didn’t do so well, but I have a ton of respect for how far you’ve brought our kids. It hasn’t been an easy year, but I’m so grateful to you for what you’ve given the Dirt Faced Okie Boys. You and your whole family are AWESOME.
Just sayin’

1 Comment

Filed under Just Sayin

One response to “A Is Silly Season In Cub Scouts Over Yet Just sayin’?

  1. jodi

    lol, that’s what I like about you, Jen. Too bad you can’t kick that asshole operator down the stairs–literally. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

