What’s in a number? Everything.

The Redneck checked in for surgery at 7:30am this morning and his surgery happened at 9:30am. At 11:30am, I started to get the feeling things didn’t go according to plan.
Every patient at Clovis Community hospital gets a number. Five numbers. Like a flight number at an airport. They are up on a TV screen with words like “In OR” “Arrived” and so on. It seemed like the Redneck’s number was “IN OR” forever. And ever.
Well, the doctor came out at noon. The Redneck didn’t get the laproscopical surgery he’d hoped, but instead, he had abdominal surgery. Then, his oxygen saturation level dropped to 70% (normal is 90-100). So, the anesthesiologist is keeping him intubated for another hour (until 1pm). As I write this, I’m just waiting. If he doesn’t breathe on his own, they’ll keep him on a machine tonight and take him off tomorrow.
Yeah, not scary at all.
But I knew this wasn’t going to be a walk in the park.
Not crying. That’s my goal.
Anyway, I have kept myself distracted by writing, by calling my best friend, by calling Melissa. It’s helped immensely.
Thinking is dangerous.
Hell, I’m a writer. Angsty-ending-in-a-funeral stories are something I can do. But my life is NOT a Nicolas Sparks book. I’m going to have a happy ending damn it.
I hope I do.
I’m probably stressing over nothing. It’s just my way. I’ll try and update soon.

UPDATE: About 2:45pm, I saw them wheel him by and he’s breathing on his own. Thank God. Thank you all for your good thoughts and prayers. I know it made the difference.

12 Comments

Filed under Life Stuff

12 responses to “What’s in a number? Everything.

  1. *hugs* Sending lots of good thoughts for you guys!

  2. As I said on Twitter, I’m praying for you. I hope everything goes well, and he has a speedy recovery.

  3. its not nothing..and stress is a natural reaction..hard not to let it get the better of you.. just know we are sending well wishes to you both..and try to keep your chin up… *love* *hugs*& *whiskey*
    xoxo

  4. Jen

    I’m going to take all I can get.
    It’s now 2:30pm and the doctor came by at 2pm to say he was “doing fine”. I asked “Is he off the ventilator”
    Nope.
    So, I’m left to wonder how the hell my husband can be “doing fine” when he’s got a machine breathing for him.
    yeah. I’m terrified.

  5. I was about to post a “Hang in there, it’s going to be fine” message when I saw your 2:45 update. Excellent. Still, I’ll say it anyway, since I’m sure it’s going to be a while before you can really let yourself believe it: Hang in there. It’s going to be fine.

  6. Sandi

    Best wishes to ya, lady. I was so happy to read that update. Take care and here’s to a super speedy recovery and some peaceful times for you!

  7. My heart squeezed tight for you. I’m glad I didn’t read this until the update. Hugs and hugs.

  8. Sorry I was away from the computer and Twitter all day. Glad to see things are going good so far. Hang in there.

  9. I’m holding you both tight! Praying and hugging.

  10. Oh, I just saw your 2.45 update. Thank God for that.

    I’m still holding you both tight though.

  11. Glad to see the good news in the update, Jen! Keeping you guys in my thoughts for a speedy recovery.

  12. Jen

    Thanks everybody! I’m so glad he’s okay and I know all the prayers and positive thoughts pulled him through.

Leave a Reply

