Thirteen Things I Learned From Watching “How The Earth Was Made”

It’s a guilty secret. I watch “How The Earth Was Made” for fun.
1. New York is set on some of the oldest bedrock
2. The San Andreas Fault Has straight parts–at San Francisco and Los Angeles
3. New York Harbor was created when a flash flood crashed through huge boulders at the entrance.
4. Scotland was once connected to North America
5. Loch Ness is a straight line for twenty miles because of the Great Glen Fault
Which is like the San Andreas fault but its 450 million years old.
6. The 1906 Earthquake in SF was probably so damaging because of Sheer movement
7. Most earthquakes shake or roll, but Sheer movement occurs on straight parts of a fault
8. England slammed into Scotland and created HUGE mountain ranges
9. The Rockies were once 6 miles high
10. Volcanoes erupted all over Scotland and created the Atlantic ocean
11. Basalt is a sign of volcanic activity
12. Plate tectonics is a relatively new concept, developed in the second half of the twentieth century
13. The Parallel Roads in Glen Roy were created by Glaciers

25 Comments

Filed under My Hulu Time Suck, Thursday Thirteen

25 responses to “Thirteen Things I Learned From Watching “How The Earth Was Made”

  1. Sophia Parkwood

    I love this show! Very interesting facts. Happy Thursday!

  2. I love this show too! 🙂 Cool facts, Jen. Happy Thursday! *Hugs*

  3. Never seen this show, but sounds like something I’d enjoy. I love to learn stuff like this.

  4. I love stuff like this. I’m a science geek in so many ways.

  5. I love geology. I am researching it now for two different WIPs

  6. They’re fascinating facts. Thanks for sharing. Enjoy your Thursday. Hugs, Meg.

  7. Very kewl and kind of scary when you think of how the earth is changing, and not necessarily for the good. Happy T13!

  8. I don’t think we have this show. I’ll have to watch for it because it’s interesting stuff.

  9. My mom was from Ohio. We lived in the Bay Area for years, and she wanted to move because of the San Andreas fault. So, we bought a horse farm in the Sierra Nevada mountains…

    And found out the San Andreas? Yeah, it runs right up Feather River Canyon, straight to our house… o.O… 🙂

  10. sashadevlin

    I have never seen this show, but I’ll have to look it up. Very interesting…

  11. Hi Jen,

    Good information. Oh, and now I want to watch too!

    Happy belated St. Patty’s day and happy TT.
    Janice~

  12. #10: Wait, WHAT? Scotland created the Atlantic Ocean?

    No way…

    🙂

  13. Cool, fun facts! Sounds like a show I might like.

  14. OMG – my mom would go flippy for this show. She loves rocks. And I mean, loves rocks. When we go to the ocean, I’m looking out over the water, and she’s got her head down, looking at the rocks on the beach.

Leave a Reply

