Thirteen Places I’d Love To Visit

1. Alaska
First on my list. I get a taste of it at Alaska Steve’s blog, A Sense Of Place.
2. Charlotte Speedway
During race week. I’d love to see a NASCAR race there.
3. Mt. Rushmore
I’ve always wanted to experience the Black Hills up close and personal.
4. The Smithsonian
I want to see the Hope Diamond especially. I’ve always been fascinated by it. There’s a million things there I want to see.
5. Broadway
I’d love to see a musical some day.
6. Stonehenge
Another fascination of mine. I blame Leonard Nimoy and “In Search Of…”
7. Scotland
I want to discover my ancestors and the Redneck’s ancestors.
8. Canada
I don’t know much about Canada, but I’d love to visit there and learn.
9. Niagra Falls
LOVE big waterfalls.
10. The Lincoln Memorial
At night.
11. Arlington Cemetery
To pay my respects as an American.
12. The Vietnam War Memorial
To pay my respects.
13. Daytona Speedway
During Speed Week. I want to see the Truck race, the Busch race and the Cup race.

23 Comments

Filed under My YouTube Obessession, NASCAR, Thursday Thirteen

23 responses to “Thirteen Places I’d Love To Visit

  1. Alaska. I wanted to live there when I was in high school. I thought it would be awesome – and I love the cold, so once I’d adjusted, it would have been perfect for me. And I wouldn’t even be bothered by the extended daylight/darkness issues in the far north. Heh.

    Oh, if the people I’ve met who come from there are any indication, Canada must be incredible.

    Happy TT!

  2. sashadevlin

    I have actually been lucky enough (it’s what we do in the midwest!) to have visited the D.C. sites you listed. I spent about 32 hrs in Scotland and it was the best 32 hrs of my life!

    • Jen

      It’s weird. I’ve been to Germany, Austria and France, but I’ve never been east of Texas in the US.
      I’ve been to border towns in Mexico, but not much else.

  3. You left off Chicago, where the Noony lives!!!!

    🙂

  4. I was kind of dissapointed with Alaska. It was a lot like the Cascades in Washington – gray skies, trees, rivers – all the usual stuff.

    The Black Hills is great. I don’t always stop by Mount Rushmore, though. You spend a lot more time waling up to the monument than actually looking at them. I mean, come on. How long can you look at a handful of carved faces? Be sure to stop off at the Bad Lands while you’re there. I swear the best ever KOA campground is there.

    I like the BC end of Canada better than the Quebec, though they each have their attractions. The mountains in BC are impressive, even to me.

  5. Canada! Yeah, baby! Come on up! You can stop here on the east coast and visit me, then we can both head over to Scotland. And when we come back to North America, we can swing by Broadway and take in some shows. Ooo, I can’t wait.

  6. Walking. I meant walking not waling. Stupid stumbling fingers.

  7. You know, I haven’t been to a Broadway production either yet, and I don’t know why. I would love that sort of thing.

    Stonehenge sounds fascinating to me, so does a cruise around the Bermuda Triangle.

    Other than Canada and Niagara Falls I haven’t been to any of these places either yet. Nice list!

  8. Well, I’ve done four of those.

    You might consider adding the Korean War Memorial to the list – it’s the most eerie thing early in the morning with the fog coming off the Potomac.

    Fun list.

  9. Hey, I did pretty well with your list. I can cross off six things for you. 🙂

    I’d like to visit the Smithsonian as well.

  10. Can I please go with you? I promise I’ll be good. 😉 These are places I would love to visit too. Happy Thursday!

  11. I’ve managed six of those. Seven if you count seeing the Daytona speedway but not going to a race there.
    I want to go with you to Scotland!

  12. I would love to go on an Alaskan cruise, and Stonehenge and Scotland would be nice as well. Have been to several other places you mentioned. Camping in the Black Hills was AWESOME. Thanks for the birthday wishes!

  13. Great list!

    I really liked D.C., Niagara Falls, and Canada.

    I didn’t expect to like Broadway…but I saw “Bring On Da Noise, Bring On Da Funk” and it was pretty awesome.

    I would LOVE to go to Scotland too!

    I think we’re going to take a Badlands road trip later this year…we’ll tell Mt. Rushmore you said hi!

  14. You simply MUST go to Washington DC, and when you do, I INSIST that you walk the mall (where all the monuments are) at night. INCREDIBLE. You will cry. I did. 😉

  15. Shawna

    Although not nearly as historic or honorable, you forgot one: The Central Valley so you can visit little ol me! There’s a few other people here who would love to see you too. : )

    Great list. I’ve been to New York, but I didn’t see the Statue of Liberty–although I could have wandered the Met for years–and that’s the only place I’ve been east of the Mississipi here in America.

Leave a Reply

