An OMG It’s POURING Just Sayin’


To The Weather
We’ve had a drought. We’ve been dry. But JEEZ!!! You certainly are making up for it. What with the weather forecast being pretty ugly and our latest earthquake, I’m wondering what you have in store for us this winter season!
Just Sayin’
To Hugo Chavez
I find it rather amusing that you believe the U.S. is using a natural disaster to occupy Haiti. Seriously? First of all, the history of our relations with Haiti have not been very positive and I can’t see that it’s going to get any better. The Haitian political structure has always been a house of cards and the United States has never been able to predict it. I will say I find your bid for political power during so much death and destruction only confirms what I already believed about you. You will achieve international attention at whatever the cost. The Haitian devastation should not be used as a political chess piece for the maneuvering of world leaders. It should be a call to the human side of all of us. After all, Mr. Chavez, whether any of us like it or not, we all share the same genetic make up.
Just Sayin’
To the Relief Workers in Haiti
You are heroes. Whether it’s appreciated or not, you are.
Just sayin’
To the United Nations
Like the United States government, you have shown yourself incapable of responding to a major natural disaster. It concerns me that an international force responds better when called to put down a rebellion than when called to provide food and water. Perhaps your focus is blurry. More aide. Less politics.
Just Sayin’
To The Red Cross
I am so reluctant to give. Why? Because my first thought is “What scam will be pulled on me this time?” Not to worry. I’ll give. I always do. But I wonder whose pocket will get my money, since I doubt Haiti will get much.
Just Sayin’
To The Redneck
I can’t tell you how much it means to me that you’ve hung with me for the last (almost) ten years. And I know it isn’t easy. You’re the breadwinner who can’t take a day off. You’re the husband to a writer who gets caught up in her stories. You’re the father to two smart, mouthy kids who take you on every chance they get. You’re the man of the house but you never get to be home. You’re the best and I’m lucky.
Just sayin’
To Robert Cray
On January 22, you’ll be at the Arkley Center performing for the Eureka fans. I have a request. The Redneck has been a fan of yours for years, longer than we’ve been married. Please, give him the best performance you can. Cause he deserves it.
And, can you play our song?

3 Comments

Filed under Just Sayin

3 responses to “An OMG It’s POURING Just Sayin’

  1. Kym

    I agree with what you have to say (especially about the relief workers) but I’d give the UN a break. They just lost a good portion of their experts on Haiti.

    • Jen

      The United Nations does seem to flounder at every turn. I don’t know if the U.S. has some part in the chaos that seems to be reining at the international body, but it needs to stop.
      I’m not a huge fan of the UN but I’m hoping they can pull it together since I think there will be more disasters and more relief needed.
      But I’ll try and be fair to the UN.

  2. There was a tornado warning here today. A tornado warning!

    Not being a big fan of the UN, I don’t disagree with you, but like you, I’ll give it the benefit of the doubt for as long as possible.

Leave a Reply

