Thirteen New Year’s Resolutions

Welcome to New Year’s Eve. Normally, I don’t make “resolutions” but I think, after this not so awesome year, I am going to make some. Thirteen of ’em.
1. I will look forward, not back
The past is the past. I’m going to let go of some of the things I’ve been hanging onto.
2. I will know who my friends are
And who they’re not. When the relationship changes and it’s no longer good for either one of us, I’m going to cut the ties quicker. Hopefully, with no bad feelings or regrets.
3. I will give with an open heart
I do give. I just complain about it a lot. I’d like to do a lot of what I did in 2009, but with a better attitude.
4. I will treat myself a little better
I don’t talk about myself very nicely. Sometimes, I’m just being self-deprecating. But sometimes, I really don’t believe in myself. This year, I will pay attention to that.
5. I will watch my words
2009 was the year of “OPEN MOUTH INSERT FOOT” for me. I pissed off/hurt several of my friends and I hate doing that. This year, I will be more careful. I have improved on this, but it still needs work.
6. I will pay LESS attention to “market”
As a writer, worrying about “What Sells” is DEADLY. You notice I didn’t say I would pay NO attention. But I’ve been known to obsess. A lot. I am going to attempt to do less obsessing and more writing.
7. I will worry LESS about what other people think
Again, I depend on outside opinion too much to validate my writing, my thinking, my existence. I plan to be a little less of a basket case about that. My first step in that direction was I turned off my Google alerts.
8. I’m Drop Kicking Self Doubt
It may kick me back, but I want this out of my life. I mean, I expect I’ll still have massive doubts about whether a book sucks or whatever. But I want the crap like “Oh My God! I can’t write at all!” to stop. I can write. I’m an author with stories to tell. I just have to remember that.
9. I’m Focusing on Science Fiction Romance
Both erotic and non-erotic. I think that’s where my strength lies and I hope I can show my best side with it.
10. I’m Aiming for New York Publishing
Still. Again. LOL. I’m hoping to have two novels completed by mid year to pitch to agents and editors.
11. Improve my craft
Though I’ve come a long way, I still struggle with plotting, formatting and other things basic to my profession. I’m going to keep working on that.
12. Have FUN
Sometimes I take life a lil bit too seriously. I’m going to try and make more time for fun.

26 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thirteen

26 responses to “Thirteen New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Those sound like attainable goals and you can too write anything you set your mind to!

  2. Those are great resolutions, Jen. šŸ™‚ Happy New Year! *Hugs*

  3. break a leg… umm pencil…. or umm… finger …as the case may be…
    allll best wishes in 2010!!!
    xoxoxo

  4. I’m going for New York too, regardless of going for eBooks.

    So far as friendship goes, my door will always be open to you, whether you cut ties or not.

  5. Great list. Wishing you success and a Happy New Year!

  6. This is a great list & I think I’ll have to borrow a few of these for myself. Or most of them. Maybe all of them.
    Best wishes for the new year!

  7. Self-doubt is a hard one. Actually, this year I’m giving up on NY. 2009 was the year of rejection for me. I’m just tired of banging my head against the wall. It’s turned flat and only my big hair disguises the dented head! You are a good writer, Jen, and I think you’ll do fine with sci-fi.

    Happy New Year.

  8. Shelley – ‘and only my big hair disguises the dented head!’ – LOL!!

    Jen – those are all great resolutions. Especially ‘Iā€™m Drop Kicking Self Doubt’. I’m going to go for that one, too.

    Happiest of New Year’s, dear friend!

  9. I love your list. I should have done one for resolutions. But that would scare me! LOL!

  10. Great list – sounds doable! But unless I’m missing something there were only 12 – what is #13? šŸ™‚ Top secret?

    Thanks for all your supportive comments as I’ve been struggling to hang onto sanity this year. You have been a true friend!

  11. What a cool idea, to let go the past and move on. I like it! šŸ™‚

  12. Those are some good resolutions, and I hope you can accomplish each and every one.

    Happy TT and Happy New Year.

    Janice~

  13. Great resolutions!

    Good luck and Happy New Year.

  14. Laura K

    Happy New Year! You really DO excel in the Sci-fi area. I love the D/s stories as well. With all the garbage going around in my life, I haven’t taken your two latest for reading/review. MUST rectify this situation.

    I truly hope you will achieve your goal to go to RWA this year. I know I’m going to Lori Foster’s and Romanticon. Went a couple of years to RT but I didn’t think it was worth it to me. Maybe someday I will be able to put your face with your name!

Leave a Reply

