Thirteen Books I’ve Read…

….in the last few weeks.
1. Simply Wicked by Kate Pearce
Fantastic story. I know I’ve said it already but to take a character from a “victim” to a “hero” is tricky and Kate pulls it off beautifully. And because she does, I know that “Simply Insatiable” will be an awesome book. The series is worth every penny, every minute, I’ve spent. I love the characters. Kate Pearce is brilliant.
2. Ropin’ The Wind by Kate Pearce
I read the three cowboy stories out of order and it didn’t matter a bit. I love these.
3. Where Have All The Cowboys Gone? by Kate Pearce
Of the three, this is my favorite.
4. Riding The Line by Kate Pearce
Dakota is YUMMY!!!!!!
5. Genesis of Shannara by Terry Brooks
This is a reread. Brooks turned more Urban Fantasy, connecting his “Knight of the Word” series to the Shannara series with this new one. Sadly, I haven’t liked it. I reread this to see if I still don’t. I still don’t.
6. A Presumption Of Death by Jill Patton Walsh and Dorothy L. Sayers
I’ve loved these continuations of the Harriet Vane/Peter Whimsey stories. This one was wonderful.
7. Dune by Frank Herbert
Another reread. My science fiction mood was slipping and I wanted to read my favorite sci fi of all time. It gets me back in the mood.
8. Mind Game by Christine Feehan
Finally, Kaden’s story. Loved it.
9. Out of the Blue by Josh Lanyon
A WWI m/m story. Josh Lanyon portrayed the secrecy, the angst and the violence of the period. What a treasure!!!
10. Club Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair
Cherise was kicking my ass on the best seller list on Fictionwise. I wanted to know why. This series is extremely well done. Her characters are real and I love her stories. I can totally understand why she was up there in the top ten.
11. Dark Citidal by Cherise Sinclair
The emotions in this are very tense. I love Master Dan.
12. Breaking Free by Cherise Sinclair
My favorite probably because of Master Nolan. Great book.
13. The Warlord’s Daughter by Susan Grant I found the romance in this one a little tough to swallow. I mean, it’s kind of based on the premise that the hero fell in love with the heroine when their eyes met. She was thirteen and he was seventeen. And then years later, he’s determined to have her. Even with that being a little eye rolling moment, I still loved this story. The world building, the plot, the characters were awesome. I’ll be looking for more from Susan Grant.

35 Comments

Filed under Great Books, Thursday Thirteen

35 responses to “Thirteen Books I’ve Read…

  1. cmtorrens

    Oooh great list. I want some of these myself. Happy T13!

  2. OKay, I was thinking about Lanyon’s book. You sold me.

    Now what do I have to do to get you to read MYLA BY MOONLIGHT?

  3. Sophia Parkwood

    I haven’t read any of those (sad I know.) There are so many books that I want to read. I wish I could stop the clock for a few days and do nothing but read. Happy Thursday!

    • Jen

      I usually read right before bed. I put the boys to bed, read to them, and then read a chapter or two for me. I’m also a fast reader, so I can burn through books pretty fast.

  4. Someone seems to have been on a Pearce/Sinclair kick. LOL Glad you enjoyed some reading time!

    • Jen

      LMAO! I usually have one author kicks, Heather. I get “in a mood” and that’s what I want. Like I read four Joey Hill books in a weekend because I needed inspiration. That kind of thing.

  5. I haven’t read any of those. Last one I read was yours…which btw kicked ass. I hope you saw the shout out in my Newsletter.
    Anyhow, have an awesome day.
    Happy T13!

  6. Where Have All The Cowboys Gone? is on my wishlist. I must read it!

  7. Great books, Jen! I love Kate’s stories. 🙂 Happy Thursday!

  8. You read books to get in the right head space too? Cool.

    • Jen

      Absolutely! Sometimes, I’m just not feeling the “erotic” aspect of my books. I read erotic romance to really get back in the right place. Same with Science Fiction. Movies help too.

  9. As always, I hope to be one of your choices, one day… 🙂

    Give me time… LOL!

    I haven’t read any of these, sorry to say. Who knows what the future will hold, though? If I ever have time to read again, that is…

    Happy TT!
    Ciao!

  10. Sounds like some great books on there!

    hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  11. Shawna

    LOL I almost did my (very first) Thirteen Thursday on the books I’ve read too. Great minds. : )

    Wonderful list. I’m going to have to get me some of those.

  12. I’m impressed by how much you read too. I’ve been a little out of reading lately. But now I’ve made up my mind – I need to get Kate’s Simply books.

  13. danieford

    Great list. Some of those are on my to read list.

  14. Kate binge much? lol

    Nice list.

  15. This just reminds me that my TBR list isn’t getting any shorter…great list!

  16. I’m looking forward to Kate’s next book. I’m one behind and about to read Simply Shameless. I also need to read Josh Lanyon’s WWII book. I really like that time period.

    • Jen

      Helene, the heroine in “Simply Shameless” is AWESOME Shelley!
      And Josh’s book was such a surprise. I didn’t know how he was going to show a gay couple in 1916, but he pulled it off brilliantly. It’s a fantastic book!

  17. I loved Frank Herbert’s Dune when I read it in HS, it was brillian and very imagentitve. It was great, but the novels that followed were odd to say the least.

    Happy Belated TT.
    Janice~

  18. ‘….in the last few weeks.’

    ?!?

    It’s taking me forever to get my 6-book challenge done. Within the year.

    *slaps forehead*

  19. Laura K

    I’ve read Cherise Sinclair, Kate Pearce, and your books for review. All of you are fantastic ladies.

    Cherise is got a way to make you squirm in your seat as she puts her subs through their paces.

    What else can I say about the two book Cave series by Kate except for hot, hot, hot! Your post has me thinking about reading her historicals now becuase I was so burned out of them from my younger days.

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

  20. Holy cow, you’ve been reading a lot. Most of my reading lately has been work related.

    I did finish the first half of Don Quixote recently. I started it in June!

    And I have been sure to kill plenty of zombies on the Xbox. (You’re welcome.)

Leave a Reply

