It’s Another &%#$^%&(^@ Monday Just sayin’

Coffee
To The Dirt Faced Okie Boys
Yes, I know it isn’t easy. I know it would be so much better if Daddy was home every night. I know it doesn’t make it better to know that all that “stuff” we can buy is because he’s on the road. And I know it sucks being “just us” five days a week and cramming “daddy time” into a Saturday and Sunday. Believe me, I know. I wish I could make it better. I wish I could magically make a job appear right here at home. I wish there was more time for all of us. I wish I could get that big New York contract, have that big writing career, so your Daddy could just come home. I wish a lot of things. But I want you to know I’ve never been more proud of you. Both of you have to suck it up so much. No one else–not the school, not our friends, not the rest of our family–understands how much this sucks ass. Only the three of us know. No one understands how precious our short time is with him. No one understands how hard it is to be a family doing this shit. All I know is that we’re making it, we love each other and that’s more than a lot of people have. It doesn’t make Mondays better, but it’s all I’ve got.
Just Sayin’
To Grandpa HoHo
Nice shot! Great buck! I can’t tell you how much it means to all of us that you go with the Redneck and the dirt faced okie boys to hunt. Without you, I don’t think the Redneck would go. You make it a little easier, a little better. I don’t say much to you because you get all embarrassed. But thank you.
Just Sayin’
To Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad
Believe it or not, I actually listened to your speech to the United Nations September 23rd. (Thank you, Lou Dobbs and CNN for running the entire thing.) First of all, it’s ridiculous to continue to deny the holocaust. It happened. To try and change history now is foolish. Let that go. You actually had some interesting things to say, things that many people in my country might agree with you about. However, you went onto to proselytize a theocratic government claiming that freedom and human rights would thrive in a moral society. Really? Women’s rights? Apparently, when you were discussing the “rights of humanity to live free” you were not referring to the women in your “theocratic” paradise. It amuses me that supporters of Palestine wear burqas which are a symbol of the oppression of women in Arabic countries. As long as the interpretation of the Bible and the Koran continue to demean, denigrate and dismiss women, I will NEVER be able to support a theocracy. I have never understood the male necessity for squashing the creativity and freedom in females. The mother of your children, the strength of your country, the moral backbone of your culture comes from the female of the species. Yet, in every religion (with a few exceptions) there is an attempt to regulate women into a subservient place in society. Though you spew great Utopian ideals, sir, your speech ultimately left me cold since the actions of your country’s “theocracy” contradicted almost everything you said. God’s law, God’s word, God’s love belongs to all human beings, not just Muslims, not just men. Until the rest of the world can accept that fact, governments should NOT be run by religion.
Just sayin’
To Kate Duffy’s family and Kensington Books
My condolences for the loss of senior editor Kate Duffy. She was a giant in the industry. She will be missed.
Just sayin’

5 Comments

Filed under Just Sayin

5 responses to “It’s Another &%#$^%&(^@ Monday Just sayin’

  1. I really admire how you’re tackling the weekend Daddy stuff. It truly sucks and I don’t know how you’re doin’ it but you are, like a champ. Hang in there lady – I’ll keep playing the lottery for both of us :-).

  2. Jen

    Thanks hon. We don’t do it well, by any means, but we do it.

  3. ‘We don’t do it well, by any means, but we do it.’

    What a great way to look at things, Jen. I definitely know what you mean about only the members of your family truly understanding what it takes to make your family work. My husband and I live with my mom, and still she doesn’t see my husband at his very, very worst (his agoraphobia/bipolar worst.) And my mom doesn’t miss a thing – she’s very intuitive. But we celebrate our successes, as you do. Why the heck not?

    I love your Just Sayin’ to the Iranian president. LOL! Exactly.

  4. Shawna

    Sweetie, I know just what that’s like. The hurry up and do everything you missed so that the time you do have together feels all that more rushed and thre is never that down time together that you desperately need.

    Hang tight. We’ll work toward that big New York contract together. I’m rooting for you.

  5. jodi

    with your productivity level, you’ll get there. Just keep going. (that way I can say I knew her when…) 🙂

Leave a Reply

