Thirteen Work In Progress That Probably Won’t See The Light Of Day

Now, I’m not committing myself. I may get back to these, but I’m doubting it. LOL. These are books I started that stalled or garnered a ton of rejections.

1. Hidden Grief
This was the very first story I wrote in September of 2005. It was also the first book I ever had rejected. I channeled a lot of my grief over my father’s death in that story. It’s a romantic suspense dear to my heart, but I’ve revised it and changed it to no avail. Currently, it resides in a sad little place in my computer.
2. Christmas Bells and Cockleshells
An odd story about a woman who hosts a Christmas party which includes her husband’s lover and her monster mother-in-law. VERY badly written but I basically wrote the scenes when I was having MIL issues. I’ll probably never revisit this one.
3. Courage That Said Its Prayers
I once thought I’d write a story about what it’s like to live among those in recovery-A.A., Al-Anon from the perspective of four people. I found it difficult to translate my experiences into the writing. It stalled after about 30K.
4. The Thirteenth Generation
This is one I’m not sure about. It’s a contemporary action adventure that features a secret society and precious jewels. I’m thinking it’s been done before too much. It’s currently defunct.
5. Fires Of Passion
This is a Fantasy I released at Cobblestone Press but the line was discontinued and I got my rights back. At the time, I hoped to revise it, make it better. The problem became that I wasn’t sure I had the skill to do it. Now, I’m not sure if I want to revise this book or start from scratch. There are definitely some world building bits that I want to keep. The Passionata are a creation that has haunted me and I’ll probably incorporate it somehow. And I love my Firelighters. We’ll see.
6. Embers Of Passion
This was a prequel to the above “Fires of Passion”. Much of the original is unusable since I’ve changed the whole thing. I do have a wip called “Embers of Passion” but it doesn’t resemble the first version at all. That one had four points of view, Druids and some wicked darkness. The newer one is a little more futuristic.
7. Losing Command
I can hear you all groaning now. LOL. Jonah, from “Regaining Command” will not, at this time, be getting his own story. Much of that book probably wouldn’t sell well anyway, but I enjoyed spending time delving into the different alien cultures of the Command books. Whether or not I continue in that series is a little iffy anyway.
8. Children of Asberek
Again, the series wasn’t going according to plan. LOL. This one too may be completely rewritten. My original ideas for the children of the main characters in the Command series hasn’t exactly panned out. I’m not sure where I’m going to go from here. But this one may hit the scrap heap.
9. Betrayal
A FIRST PERSON (I’d forgotten that) suspense that has an interesting setting but I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to write it. I began it from the perspective of someone betrayed by a group close to them (my own personal experience) and one of them is murdered. The character is very interesting, but I’m not sure I want to dive into that one.
10. Stronger Poison
A play on the Dorothy L. Sayers title “Strong Poison”, this suspense was about a (wait for it) mystery writer who is (wait for it) accused of murdering her ex-lover. And she falls in love with a (wait for it) private investigator hired to help her. Sad eh? I definitely had fun writing the irony of all that though. And the main character was so funny. But…no. It’s too commonplace. That one isn’t probably going to make the cut.
11. Discarded
I can hear Melissa Blue yelling at me now. Once upon a time, I swore I would never write a historical. For the record, I sure as hell never intended to. Instead, this woman nattered at me until I wrote her story. She’s finished but it’s pretty awful. I am NOT a historical writer. I couldn’t even dirty it up and make it interesting. LOL. So, it’s probably going to stay in my wip neglected.
12. Heroes of Asberek
This is another one started about the kids of the characters in the Command series. Again, I’m not sure I’ll be continuing in that series.
13. Star Treasure
A very, very, very, bad space pirate story that I decided after only five thousand words to completely abandon. Apparently, the idea of a woman being “booty” just didn’t work for me. LOL.

You know? That’s not all of them. LOL.

35 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thirteen, Writing

35 responses to “Thirteen Work In Progress That Probably Won’t See The Light Of Day

  1. Jen, some of those sound great. You amaze me in the number of stories you put out there. I only wish I could be half as prolific.

  2. Jen

    I get a lot of ideas, Nina, but sometimes they don’t go anywhere.

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever had this many WIP’s. LOL They sound great, Jen. I hope you’re able to get back to them soon. Happy Thursday. *Hugs*

  4. Kym

    Having the courage to say, I’m done with this piece…Wow. I can’t bear to do it. All the work I’ve put into something makes it precious. Even when I know its not.

    • Jen

      It helps to have new stuff that needs attention. That first one is the hardest. I still want to tinker with it, but it’s like beating a dead horse.

  5. I’ve got a couple like that. One was a fantsy I scrapped because it ended up just not being my thing. And the other was a romantic suspense that had a boring h/h and a great secondary couple. So, I took the secondary couple and turned them into the h/h from my first published book, Samantha and the Detective! LOL!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/

  6. Such a difference between your first book and mine, which was never finished. You’ve definitely taken a faster career track.

    • Jen

      I am pretty determined, Alice. I think that’s why I have so many false starts. I keep pounding away until I find something that works.

  7. I just hope to be as prolific! šŸ™‚

    • Jen

      OMG Inez, that one was so….snarky. I mean, the whole thing revolves around this woman who decides to invite a host of people who all hate each other. She is PISSED that her relations, her friends and her husband have screwed up her holidays. So, she just decides she’s going to do it her way.
      Er, not that I thought about doing that or anything. LOL.

  8. I’m glad to know you’re not the only one that doesn’t finish everything. Hell, I’d be happy with finishing SOMETHING.

    Of course, not everything deserves to be finished, eh? Except beer.

  9. Nothing wrong with knowing when to walk away from a WIP, or to set it aside for a while. Sometimes you have to let an idea percolate a year…or ten…and work on something else.

  10. I like space pirate stories!

  11. What Crystal said.

    Some of those do sound great & if you ever get back to them, I’m sure they’ll be wonderful.

    I don’t think I’d want to traipse into my WIP graveyard. Scary in there.

  12. Nice idea for a list. I have a stash of unfinished projects, some might get revived someday, others are just . . . so, so pitiful. lol
    Happy Thursday!

  13. Janice Seagraves

    I think I have that many, and I’m currently working on revising each and every one of them too.

    Good luck with your new projects.

    Happy TT.
    Janice~

  14. I don’t have any unfinished WIPs, but I do have three that need to be rewritten. Do those count?

  15. Huh. I don’t bother to title mine – WIPs usually just go by MC names. You’re already ahead of me. šŸ˜‰

    Good luck.

  16. I’m so glad you posted this! I don’t feel bad about the shelf full of unfinished manuscripts I’ve been looking at every day and wondering which ones I should dust off and work on.

  17. Shawna

    Ohhh, some of these sound good. I like the concept behind #2… But then my ex MIL was a… interesting character.

    This really is an impressive list. You are a prolific and imaginative writer. I love the titles. : )

  18. At least you started! That’s more than I can say ;-). Sometimes it takes repeated goofs to come up with that award winning story. And, I do love your titles. You have more creativity in your pinky than I do in my entire body!

Leave a Reply

