Thirteen Things We’ve Done This Week

If it seems like I’ve been a little more scarce than usual, it’s because I’ve been over in Redding hanging with The Redneck and the boys. The Dirt Faced Okie kids have the week off for Spring break. We’ve been having fun.

1. Driving Highway 299
I love that drive. It’s so pretty.
2. Lim’s Cafe
With Mill’s Brother in the background and fantastic Egg Foo Yung, I adored this place. It’s been in Redding for fifty-one years and it’s a landmark.
3. Whiskeytown Lake
A gorgeous man made lake.
4. Castle Crags
We’re going to hike to the top (I hope) today. 2.7 miles up and 2.7 miles down. Whew.
5. Hanging with The Redneck
We’ve been spending some time with him every night. I really miss that.
6. Watching “The Deadliest Catch” with the whole family
Tuesday night was the premiere of Season Five. WOOOOOT!!!
7. The Turtle Bay Museum
That place ROCKS!!!!
8. Caldwell Park
A skate park, basketball hoops, cool playgrounds and a fish ladder all in one place. Awesome.
9. The Pizza Factory
In Shasta Lake City (formerly Central Valley). It was filled with hunting pictures, fishing trophies and had FOX news on a big screen. Oh, and the pizza was TO DIE FOR!!!
10. The Turtle Bay Cafe
Which had a yummy chicken fajita wrap for me. Mmmmmmm.
11. The Sundial Bridge
Absolutely stunning AND it’s a real sundial. Very, very cool
12. The Trinity River
Which meets the Sacramento River for a gorgeous combination.
13. My friend Cathy
Who I haven’t seen in a couple of years. Man, I missed her.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Thirteen Things We’ve Done This Week

  1. Sounds like you’re having a great week. Enjoy! Fun idea for a list.
    Happy T13.

  2. It’s important to take the time to reconnect with family now and then. Sounds like you’re having a fabulous time. Happy T13!

  3. Le Sigh. I’d love to be able to spend some time with the dh at night. It’s been months now, he only sees the kids on weekends.

  4. Isn’t The Deadliest Catch awesome? ๐Ÿ™‚ Hubby and I watch it too. Happy Thursday! *hugs*

  5. Thanks guys.
    Man, Alice, I wish you could too. That’s the usual state of affairs for The Redneck. He usually only sees us on the weekend.
    Yes, Stephanie!!! I was so happy to get a new episode.

  6. Kym

    Now that sounds like a vacation for our family. One of the best was following my husband to Irish Beach while he worked. We all had a blast. And it is so nice to snuggle close at night.

  7. My hometown! I haven’t been to Lim’s in years. I hiked Castle Crags in the 5th grade on a field trip, LOL. And Shasta Lake City will forever be Central Valley to me…

    Have fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Yeah for you! I want to get over there with the kids to take a mini-vacation. How was the weather? I love the Sundial bridge. Where the heck is the Castle place?

  9. I’m glad you’re getting to spend time with your entire family, Jen. It sounds like you’re having a lot of fun.

  10. Sounds like a fun time. I admit to being intrigued by the sundial bridge.

  11. I’ve always wondered what the other side of California looks like. I’m going to have to take a cruise out to the back country soon because your list reminds me of that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Janice Seagraves

    Hmm, Redding I don’t think that is too far from where I live in Madera.

    It sounds like you have a great week. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy TT.

    Janice~

  13. One day I hope to be in shape enough to do a hike like that. How cool! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. That is one thing we try to do, Kym, make every job he has away from home a “vacation” of sorts. It helps.
    Karen, I was wondering if you’d recognize some of the landmarks. You did that hike in fifth grade? You’re amazing. My kids didn’t make it all the way to the top and MAN I was GIMPED UP from that hike. That 2.7 miles UP almost killed me. (We made it about 2.1 miles UP)

    Sandi, Castle Crags is about twenty miles or so north of Redding (before Mt. Shasta City) and north of Lake Shasta on I5. It’s an absolutely stunning place. I’ll have pictures up later, but I can’t get them on my computer with my itty bitty modem. When I get home, I’ll be able to download them.

    Heather, the Sundial bridge is a beautiful piece of engineering. I found some pictures online and I’ll post them later. It’s an actual working sundial that spans an arm of the Sacramento River.

    R.J. I highly recommend getting north of San Francisco. With places like Fort Bragg, Eureka, Crescent City, Redding, Weaverville and Fort Jones, you can see some absolutely gorgeous places. The Redwoods are worth the long drive.
    Mt. Lassen and Mt. Shasta are worth the drive up I5. I love living up here.

    Janice, you’re about seven hours south of me.

    Ms. Menozzi, I wasn’t really in shape for that hike. I just did it anyway. LOL.

  15. sounds…like…heaven…
    as much as i love my power hungry cesspool swamp of a city… some days (mostly when you write about the boys and redneck and big trucks and pizza night and lakes etcetcetc) it sounds pretty darn great… and you can color me a slightly jealous shade of green…
    xoxo

  16. Jennifer I about died making that hike – all of us kids did, the teacher was crazy, LOL.

    I miss living in Redding. I didn’t appreciate it when I lived there, got the heck out when I was 20 and now I appreciate it when I come back to visit. It’s beautiful…I miss seeing those mountains.

    And I’m awfully jealous of where you live too…

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

