Thirteen Songs I Listen To In The Morning

I’m usually not ready for Metallica so….

1. “Home” by the Foo Fighters
2. “Rain” by Jon Heintz
3. “Answer” by Sarah McLachlan
4. “Out From Under” by Britney Spears
5. “Not As We” by Alanis Morissette
6. “This Woman’s Work” by Kate Bush
7. “Angel” by Sarah McLachlan
8. “Epiphany” by Staind
9. “Ordinary Miracle” by Sarah McLachlan
10. “Drifting” by Sarah McLachlan
11. “Good Enough” by Sarah McLachlan
12. “Ice Cream” by Sarah McLachlan
13. “Tangled Up In You” by Staind

Here’s the playlist just in case you’ve never heard them. Press the “Pop Out Player” button.

26 Comments

Filed under My Music Obsession, Thursday Thirteen

26 responses to “Thirteen Songs I Listen To In The Morning

  1. I love love love Angel by Sarah McLachlan

  2. Robbie

    I will have to check this out when I get home from work. I’m embarrassed to admit I only know a couple of these songs. Happy T13!

  3. So far today I’ve had Adam Lambert “Mad World” (which I love even more than Gary Jule’s version), and Denis Leary “Asshole”. So I guess I’m living in a mad world of assholes.

  4. Whuho on the pop out player! How’d you know I was in the mood for some music?

  5. I love so many of these songs – you’ve got great taste! LOL!

    You need a little more Kate Bush in your day, though. πŸ˜‰

    Ciao!
    Happy TT!

  6. I liked Ordinary Miracle. How did you insert the playlist buttons?
    Happy T13.

  7. Hm, let me guess…you love Sarah McLachlan?? LOL Great song choices. Happy T13!

  8. Jen

    Oh me too Ruth. Turns out that song doesn’t play on my player for some reason. *resigned sigh* Good thing I have about five versions of it. LOL.
    Oh Robbie, don’t be embarrassed. I’m pretty eclectic so I don’t always have the “popular” stuff.
    LMAO, Ember!!! I’m going to have to check out Adam Lambert. Everyone has been recommending him.
    Hey Alice, I blame Kate Bush on you. LOL. I woke up this morning and HAD to hear her.
    I love Kate Bush, Ms. Menozzi.
    Babette, I have a profile on the playlist site (see the “Create Your Own Playlist” button). Then, I pressed “Embed” when I was finished. This gave a code which works on most sites (but not WordPress) and creates a “player” right on your post. But on WordPress, it just makes the buttons you see. Hence the “press the pop out player” instructions.
    And yes, Adelle. I love love love Sarah. Not as much as I love Kim Richey but I love her.

  9. Stephanie Adkins

    I LOVE Angel. πŸ˜€ Sarah has such an amazing voice. Great list, Jen. Happy Thursday! *Hugs*

  10. I’ve never heard of any of those! LOL!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://tinyurl.com/4zejcp

  11. Shawna

    Nice list. I couldn’t listen to Angel in the morning, it would make me all meloncholy and sad for the rest of the day.

    Today I think I’m going to need something with some grit and coffee doesn’t seem to be doing the job. : )

  12. talesfromthecrit

    I love the foo fighters and Sarah McLachlan and Staind and…can I just borrow your iPod?

    Amber

    http://ambergilchrist.wordpress.com/

  13. I know some of the artists, but not the particular songs. I’m so bad when hubby wants to play “who’s this band?” in the car. LOL! Happy T13.

    http://tinyurl.com/78krdt

  14. A neat list even though I don’t recognize any of the songs. lol. That’s okay, we all have our things. I just thought it was really great finding a Redneck Romance Writer. Yeah! Go girl!

  15. Apparently, you have music on the brain. Shouldn’t you have editing on the brain?

  16. I’m sensing a Sarah Maclachlan theme. I wonder if I should admit I’ve never heard of her…

  17. Jen

    Amber and Inez, this playlist thing is the best thing I’ve found to share my favorite tunes. I still find that I can’t find some of my obsessions on them. (Like Shadowplay and B-side Kim Richey)

    Shawna, usually I’ve got Metallica, Crossfade and Linkin’ Park blaring in my headphones. But early in the morning, I want it a little mellower to start.

    Nina, I am too. Sometimes it takes me forever to find stuff ’cause I’m like “Who sings that?”

    Gramps, I’m ignoring you. Edits? What edits?

    LOL Shelley. You should check her out. Sarah is brilliant.

  18. I listen to NPR in the morning mostly. If I do listen to music, it’s always happy, cheesy music to render me enthused about the day.

  19. This Woman’s Work by Kate Bush – big thumb’s up.

  20. melsmag

    Great songs! πŸ™‚

  21. i was listening to “tangled up in you” (we are like soul sisters) while i was working on my taxes and i kept mistaking “tangible property” with “tangled up property” and i decided my way was more accurate!
    xoxo

  22. Jen

    Um NPR would NOT make me mellow, Lucy. LOL.
    Thanks Julia and Mel.
    SB, Oh my God!!!! That’s hilarious! Your way IS more accurate. What’s funny is I went back and noticed I used the word “Tangled” twelve times in three pages yesterday morning. I think that song has some hypnotic effect. LOL.

  23. I have to send my daughter here and see what she listens to. I can’t hear at all but love to read lyrics!
    I’m gonna look some of them up!

    Great to find your blog Jennifer!

  24. So I take it you have a thing for Sarah McLachlan? πŸ˜‰

    I love to listen to music in the morning when I’m getting ready. I’ve been listening to Carl Thomas this week.

  25. There are some great songs there–love Sarah McLachlan!

Leave a Reply

