Writer Angst Whiskey Wednesday

a-shot-of-whiskey250px-crown_royal_-_box_bottle_bag
What do you do when what you write WELL isn’t what you thought you’d want to write? And what do you do when face the fact that you’ve possibly been spinning your wheels? Well, I’m faced with that possibility.

There are two realities I’ve had to face. One, my romantic suspense at Whiskey Creek Press has not sold very well. Two, my erotic BDSM and sci fi has sold very well. And it’s not looking like agents and editors are very interested in my romantic suspense either. Some of my toughest edits have been on my sensual Jennifer McKenzie stuff and I get the same criticism over and over. “Too distant”, “I don’t connect with the characters”, “Pacing is off”. Add the fact that my books are really more action adventure than romantic suspense and you’ve got a recipe for rejection.

Two of my critique partners have encouraged me to send the erotic writing to New York. For some reason, I have resisted this move. Maybe it’s because my mom would shake her head and pray for me. Maybe it’s because having an erotic book selling at the bookstore in my area would be…intimidating. Maybe it’s because I really want to be Ngaio Marsh or Dorothy L. Sayers. The truth is, I don’t know why I’ve resisted it. I struggle with the suspense-the pacing, the loose ends, the deep point of view that really gets you inside the head of the characters-and I don’t struggle with the erotic romance as much. The characters tend to talk to me more.

The point is that I’ve been walking a rough road for a while and now, I’m considering switching directions. Or at least changing cars. Same road, but instead of a Honda Civic, I’m going to switch to a Corvette. A red one. With leather seats. LOL.

I guess my point is that I’m angsting. What that means for future projects is…I don’t know. I just can’t get my brain around this. It will be interesting to see which direction this takes me.

9 Comments

Filed under Whiskey Wednesday, Writing

9 responses to “Writer Angst Whiskey Wednesday

  1. I totally get what you’re saying.

    My best seller so far is my Older Woman Younger Man. It just surprises the heck out of me.

    I always thought I wanted to be a historical romance writer. I’m still trying, but Contemporary Erotica sells better for me.

    I’m waiting to see what my historical romance series releasing from Linden Bay does to judge where I go.

  2. Jen

    Oh good! I’m so glad I’m not the only one Amy!

  3. Whatever you decide to do, I know you will do it well. Sometimes you need to take chances and a leap of faith. Trust me, I know this all too well :-).

  4. verybadcat

    You know what? I’m really damn sick and tired of watching you struggle with a sense of shame about your writing, and when you’re doing that, you always mention your Mom. I know it’s hard not to get parental approval where we want it, when we need it. The time has come, though, for you to own your career, your talent, your accomplishments. There is nothing to be ashamed of.

    Send your stuff to New York. Have book signings. I would be proud to stand next to you and keep you in water bottles and pens while you autograph your books!

    As far as the genre issues, I don’t know that I can offer much help, except to say that if writing romantic suspense is personally important to you, you can push ahead with what’s selling and work on improving what you’re really fond of.

    You rock, girl. Own it.

  5. Jen

    Thanks Sandi.
    And VBC, I woke up this morning and this made me cry a lil bit. All I can say is thank you. I owe you. Big Time.

  6. sugar…
    im the last person to give ANYONE life advice…but…
    hahahahha….theres always a but….
    If it feels good, comes naturally, and gets praise…..
    ummmm….do it everyday and twice on sunday…
    and call me if the gears on that vette are giving you trouble …i mean it IS MANual right???
    xoxo

  7. I love your erotica Jen. Your writing is awesome. Sorry to hear you’re balancing on the fence trying to figure out which way to jump. But hell … if there’s a rusty Civic on one side and a Corvette on the other … seems to me those leather seats wouldn’t be such a hard place to land. Of course following that analogy, you’ll have to drive it topless … and that’s a little scary.

    I don’t let the nay-sayers (like my MIL) get me down. I’ll happily sign smut books at the local bookstore if someone’s willing to buy! (And I live in an itty-bitty town!)

  8. Jen

    Of COURSE it’s a manual. I like control. Just sayin’. (*mwah* You’re the woman, SB)
    Driving topless. Absolutely. LOL.

  9. Pingback: The Next Step… « Redneck Romance Writer

Leave a Reply

