There’s Something Rotten In The Golden State Just Sayin’

coffee

To The State Of California
You are absolutely unbelievable. You’re going to send me an IOU FOR MY TAX RETURN? I would like to call your attention to two things. One, when my husband owed you a measly $1000, you slapped penalties and interest on that grand until two years later, that amount was $5000. Three years later, the Redneck tried to get out of debt with you, you put a lien on him so he couldn’t buy a house AND began assessment on MY income when I married him. We finally paid your ass off, yanked ourselves up by our bootstraps, bought a house and began to succeed. Now YOU’RE in financial trouble and you want to send me an IOU? And when tax payers threaten to change our withholding so YOU can’t have the money from our paychecks, we discover that you’ve passed a law to charge us $1000 for “not withholding enough”. Un. Fucking. Believable. That’s right my fellow Californians. They wasted our money, given themselves raises and made it so we can’t dock their income. How about you follow your own rules? When you “keep” my money that was “overpaid” then you ought to pay 19% and penalties for every DAY you don’t pay up. That’s what you’d do if we owed YOU money. When YOU overpaid us (YOUR mistake) you CHARGED US interest when you came back and demanded the money. Un. Fucking. Believable. And there’s no recourse. None. We vote you out and new assholes take over. And you wonder why I vote against gun control.
Just Sayin’

To The Redneck
Monday’s still suck. For all the same reasons. Except now, we get up at 2am. I don’t like it.
Just Sayin’

To My Publishers
I hate writing blurbs. Hate. Them.
Just Sayin’

To Anyone Waiting for “Eye of the Storm
I’m DONE!!! It’s been critiqued and fixed. All I have to do now is come up with a blurb (see above) and submit it. WOOOOOOOOT!!!!!!!
Just sayin’

11 Comments

Filed under Just Sayin

11 responses to “There’s Something Rotten In The Golden State Just Sayin’

  1. OMG on’t get me started with the IOU thing. It boils my blood. BOILS IT. Right, they have no problem slapping fines and liens on the citizens of this state when they don’t pay them back…

    If I owe money this year (which we don’t think we will, we haven’t for the last couple of years) I SOOOO want to insert a little slip that says IOU. And I know I’m not alone in this sentiment. Bastards.

    Congrats on finishing the book! Gotta end this on a positive note right? LMAO

  2. Jen

    What I hate Karen is if we DO slip that IOU in as “payment”, they’ll garner our wages. Have you noticed that they’ve got all the laws on THEIR side? Government by the people my ass.
    *grumble grumble*
    And Thanks! I was THRILLED to be done with this one.

  3. That is horrible! I would be super pissed for sure. NY is in trouble too and they haven’t suggested this as an alternative thank goodness. Instead NY wants to tax us more – yep just tax us more to fix the problem -don’t cut the wasteful spending or balance the budget – tax people more.

    I think I need to get out of NY and won’t be considering CA as an option that is for sure! LOL

  4. I heard the IOU thing might be applied to state employees as well. Does this mean I can give my mortgage company an IOU? And my credit card companies? Seriously, these fat cat politicians need to take a major pay cut, throw Obama a potluck rather than a 150 million dollar ball, and get a frickin’ clue. What a bunch of fucktards. Good job on the book :-).

  5. Kym

    I was annoyed before about the state tax returns but after reading your blurb, I’m hostile. I didn’t know “And when tax payers threaten to change our withholding so YOU can’t have the money from our paychecks, we discover that you’ve passed a law to charge us $1000 for “not withholding enough”.

    Where can I find out more about this?

  6. Jen

    Check out our tax forms Kym. This was added in 2004

    Estimated Tax Payment Penalty – You may not be subject to estimate tax payments if your California withholding is enough during each payment period to total either 90% of your current tax year liability or 100% of your prior year tax liability, OR you paid enough through withholding to keep the amount you owe with your return under $200 ($100 if married filing separately). However, if you did not pay enough through withholding, you may have an underpayment penalty. Get form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries,
    for more information.

  7. Jen

    In other words, if you pay too much, we’ll give you an IOU. If you didn’t pay enough, you get an “Underpayment penalty”. Yep. Welcome to OUR government.

  8. My side is split, that’s so funny. An IOU. Yep.

  9. Oh, um, wow. Do you feel like we should just start marching on Capitol buildings until someone “gets it”?!

  10. I meet my tax guy later this month. If I owe any state taxes I think I’ll send them an IOU just to see what they do. (See you in prison!)

  11. Jen

    I’m kind of hoping it IS a joke, Julia….except those assholes have NO sense of humor.
    VBC, you have to take out permits to march.
    Yep, Gramps. You and me. Prison. You bring the soap?

Leave a Reply

