Thirteen Reasons Writers are “Sensitive”

It’s a common fact, not an urban myth, that writers are “sensitive”. The dictionary has thirteen different definitions of “Sensitive”. Perfect, right?

1. endowed with sensation; having perception through the senses.

I, personally, know when I write I seem to channel my characters. It’s a little weird sometimes.

2. readily or excessively affected by external agencies or influences.

Writers are acutely aware of the opinions of readers, reviewers, agents, editors, fellow authors…you get the point.

3. having acute mental or emotional sensibility; aware of and responsive to the feelings of others.
Writing a book about a character means you have to be aware of other people’s feelings. This isn’t always true for me, but it often is.

4. easily pained, annoyed, etc.
You all have seen this every Monday on my “Just Sayin'” days. But I think we are easily annoyed. If you doubt me, find a writer you know and interrupt them when they’re writing.

5. pertaining to or connected with the senses or sensation.
I know a bunch of words to describe nervousness. And fear. And anger.

6. Physiology. having a low threshold of sensation or feeling.

I don’t know if this is true or not, but it sure seems like it. LOL.

7. responding to stimuli, as leaves that move when touched.
If you’re not the Redneck and you “touch” me? I’ll leave. That works, right? Okay, I’m reaching here I know.

8. highly responsive to certain agents, as photographic plates, films, or paper.

You should have seen us all posing at the RWA conference. HIGHLY responsive.

9. affected or likely to be affected by a specified stimulus (used in combination): price-sensitive markets.
Yep. You all stop buying my books and I’m likely to be stimulated….to cry. LOL.

10. involving work, duties, or information of a highly secret or delicate nature, esp. in government: a sensitive position in the State Department.
I can’t tell you or I’d have to kill you.

11. requiring tact or caution; delicate; touchy: a sensitive topic.
Um, this describes every interaction I have with other authors. LOL. Okay, it’s not that bad. Well, maybe with the Redneck Poet. LOL.

12. constructed to indicate, measure, or be affected by small amounts or changes, as a balance or thermometer.
Yep. We are very sensitive to changes. Don’t believe me? Just watch writers on Twitter when there’s been bad weather all over and SNOW DAYS are declared. It’s ugly I tell you.

13. Radio. easily affected by external influences, esp. by radio waves.
You know, at first we’re easily affected by external influences…..and then we’re not. LOL.

Okay, that was just for fun. I was just thinking tonight about how the writing life is filled with “Peaks and Valleys” as the Redneck called them. It’s been an up and down week.
I’ve had excellent reviews. I’ve had several people tell me they love my stuff. I’ve been given lots of support. I’ve also had pretty tough edits, two rejections and lots of confidence smashers. Ups and downs. Peaks and Valleys. We’re sensitive, man! LOL.

16 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thirteen

16 responses to “Thirteen Reasons Writers are “Sensitive”

  1. I compare the life of a writer as riding on a rollercoaster. It’s a crazy life lol but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Great post, Jen. Happy T13!

  2. Jen

    Exactly Adelle. It’s that whole annoyingly persistent thing. LOL.

  3. That’s a great list Jen. And so true! Happy T13!

  4. ‘information of a highly secret nature – I canā€™t tell you or Iā€™d have to kill you.’

    LOL!!

    This was a great idea, exploring the concept of ‘sensitive’. Writers – all artists – are definitely sensitive. In a good way and in a not-so-good way sometimes…

    I just now got to your Purse Meme and Sleep Meme.Thanks for doing them!

  5. By that – I mean, those – definitions I’d have to say I’m not sensitive enough.

  6. Great list! I admit, I love some of your “Creative Interpretations” of some of those. šŸ˜‰

    Happy TT!
    Ciao!

  7. Jen

    I couldn’t pass it up. I was going to do my OWN reasons why I think writers are sensitive, but then the dictionary had thirteen definitions and I had to run with it. LOL.
    I don’t know that my family would think I’m very sensitive either Alice. LOL.

  8. Those are SO true, Jennifer! Great list! Happy Thursday! *HUGS*

  9. Awesome list.

    It’s a wild roller coaster, but man, what a ride!
    ::grins::

  10. Great list, Jen. Life as a writer isn’t easy sailing, that’s for sure. šŸ™‚

  11. Great TT! I’m definitely one of the sensitive writers!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    My TT is at http://tinyurl.com/4zejcp

  12. Love it – great list this week, Jennifer!

    http://wordtrix.blogspot.com/

  13. Shawna

    Can I copy this and put it on my blog? It’s perfect.

  14. Jen

    Absolutely Shawna. Feel free.

  15. Shawna

    Thanks, one of these days I’ll learn to link ; )

  16. Janice Seagraves

    I know as I writier I am sinsative but I need to thicker hide for the critizens of my work, argh.

    BTW, I’m sorry I’m late posting this comment for TT, but all I have is a dial-up server and my landline was down for three days, argh. But it was fix today so I’m . . . ba-aa-ck!

    Janice~

Leave a Reply

