It’s A MeMe Post

I’m so bad about posting these. LOL. I never seem to run out of stuff to post so I can fit these in! LOL.
So, here’s a WHOLE BUNCH in one post.
First, the purse MeMe, given to me by Julia over at Mind Over Matter.

Here are the rules. Find a safe quiet place free of significant others, nosey meme makers, priests, nuns, all things religious and men in general. (If you’re a guy just reverse this process to female and tell us about your wallet, tool box, briefcase or metro sexual accessory.)

1.. Dump the contents of your purse in a pile
2. Take a photo of your purse and the contents
3. Be brave and ‘splain to your fellow bloggers what lurks inside the purse.

0111090816a

Eclipse Breath mints
two pens
An Operating Engineers Local #3 daily calendar
Address book
Wallet/checkbook
Weird key chain (I have no idea where this came from actually)
Cell Phone clip
Blue Tooth
Business Cards
Check stub
Royalty check (Yeah, I need to take care of this)
Two coupons for an open gym night at Healthsport
One coupon for toilet paper
A Safeway reciept
A Program from my Grandmother’s funeral July 2008

An odd collection.

Julia tagged me again with the “How Do You Sleep” MeMe

How long do you sleep each night?
It varies. Anywhere from three to six hours. Usually not more

Do you fall asleep easily?
I usually have to read before I got to bed. If I’m worried, no.

Do you fall asleep at times not in your bed
Not really. I usually like my routine.

Do you listen to music or use white noise to sleep?
No. I like quiet.

Do you sleep through the night or wake up a few times?
My youngest usually wakes me up twice every night. The dogs wake me up too.

Do you have trouble sleeping away from your own bed?
Not really. As long as I can settle in and read. LOL.

Do you need an alarm clock to wake up?
Yes, if I need to be up at a certain time. I usually don’t sleep past seven.

Do you ever take medication to help you sleep?
Not very often. Sometimes I take Benedryl, but that’s usually for my allergies.

Do you sleep with your pet?
*sigh* Yes. I don’t like to, but The Redneck has created a habit with the dogs that I’m too lazy to break.

And Adelle Lauden tagged me with an interesting one I wanted to pass on.

Tell Me About The Book That’s Been On Your Shelf The Longest
I’d have to say “Dune” by Frank Herbert. It’s a very tattered copy I bought back in the 80’s.

Tell Me About A Book That Reminds You Of Something Specific In Your Life
Ngaio Marsh’s “Artist’s In Crime”. My Dad had been trying to get me to read Marsh for years, but I’d resisted for some reason. But one winter, I gave in (I was about fourteen) and this was the first Marsh I read. I loved it and have continued to love her books since.

Tell Me About A Book You Acquired In An Interesting Way (Gift, serendipity in a used bookstore, prize, etc.)
Once, my parents came up to Eureka to visit me and my first husband. I showed them around and took them to my favorite bookstore. It’s a used bookstore called “The Booklegger”. They have first editions and valuable books in bookcases with glass doors. I showed my Dad these since he’s as much of a book hound as I am. Specifically, I showed him a collection of short stories by Dorothy Parker. A first edition. I’d been drooling over it for two years. Somehow, my Dad bought it without me knowing and gave it too me for Christmas. I miss my Dad.

Tell Me About The Most Recent Addition To Your Shelves
Adelle Lauden sent me “The Iron Horse Rider” for Christmas and it’s next on my list to read.

Tell Me About A Book That’s Been With You To The Most Places
My disintegrating copy of “Gaudy Night” by Dorothy L. Sayers. I love book.

The Rules

1. Tag 3-5 people, so the fun keeps going!

2. Leave a comment at the original post at A Striped Armchair, so that Eva can collect everyone’s answers.

3. If you leave a comment and link back to Eva as the meme’s creator, she will enter you in a book giveaway contest! She has a whole shelf devoted to giveaway books that you’ll be able to choose from, or a bookmooch point if you prefer.

4. Remember that this is all about enjoying books as physical objects, so feel free to describe the exact book you’re talking about, down to that warping from being dropped in the bath water…

5. Make the meme more fun with visuals! Covers of the specific edition you’re talking about, photos of your bookshelves, etc.

Sooo – I Tag the following cool bloggers and encourage you to visit them – I promise – no Cooties…

I’m not tagging anyone. If you’d like to do one of these, have at it, let me know and I’ll come visit.

4 Comments

Filed under Whatever category

4 responses to “It’s A MeMe Post

  1. Your purse is much cleaner than mine. Between the lint and empty gum wrappers, it’s pretty scary. You and I have about the same sleeping habits – primarily being that neither of us get enough! The story about your dad was really sweet :-).

  2. Nice lists Jen. I might just do one these … of course I need to think about it. 😀

  3. Sorry it took me so long to comment, Jen – I’ve been battling a massive migraine and it hasn’t been pretty. I dropped by earlier and read your post but couldn’t get my brain to work so I could comment.

    I think it’s funny that you and I both had funeral programs in our purses. Funny good, though. I sure didn’t have a royalty cheque in my purse, though!

    As for sleeping – do mothers anywhere get any sleep? Ever?

  4. Oh – I forgot to mention how sweet your dad & books story is. He was a true friend.

Leave a Reply

