In A John Denver Mood

You know, the man had such a glorious and sad life. Beautiful music, but simple. Rejected by Nashville, spurned when he won his CMA award, and a victim of his own fame, he managed to create some stunning images that stay with me today.
The Redneck finally brought back “Rocky Mountain Christmas” from the truck and we’ve been listening to it, The Muppets and John Denver, “Windsong” and “Take Me Home, Country Road”. So, here’s some music. I know some would call him corny. But I don’t care. He’s brilliant. Sometimes the simplest things–a sunset, rain falling, a fire in the fireplace–are the most important things. Enjoy.

This is The Redneck’s Favorite.

And this is mine.

6 Comments

Filed under Holidays, My Music Obsession, My YouTube Obessession

6 responses to “In A John Denver Mood

  1. Hi Jen! …Yes, a little corny but totally unique. It’s impossible to think of John Denver without visualizing the Rocky Mountains and their elements, its just an automatic thought process!

  2. Jen

    He captured nature so well, I think.

  3. I love corny. And I’ve always been a John Denver fan!

    SUNSHINE ON MY SHOULDERS is my favorite.

  4. Jen

    I love that song, Andi.

  5. I used to be a big fan… don’t know what happened. I guess I simply forgot about him on the way.
    Annie’s song was/is my all time JD favorite.

    Thanks for reminding us of his talent 🙂

  6. Kym

    I’m glad I’m not the only one. I love his music. Rocky Mountain High. Wow!

Leave a Reply

