Christmas Cookie Weekend 2008

It’s that time again.
When recipe cards litter the kitchen counter, and flour scatters over my floor, and every single baking sheet in my home is filled with cookie dough.
That’s right.
Christmas Cookie Weekend.
It began Friday morning with Grandma’s Oatmeal Cookies. Does anyone else have a spouse’s relations who makes the BEST *fill in the blank* and every time you make it they’re “not quite right”? YeeHaw. I love that. *rolls eyes*
Ginger cookies, Friggin’ Marshmallow thingies, chocolate covered peanut balls, (much better than schweaty balls) almond roca, sugar cookies with fosting and Loribelle’s fudge all take over my house.
For the last few years, Michelle and I have teamed up to send cookies out to everyone we love (or need to bribe) but this year, I am Michelleless.
I bought an extra bottle of whiskey in her honor.
She’d be so proud.
I will, of course, have pictures like I did last year and the year before that. It’s hard to realize how totally insane it is without the visual.
Christmas Music, cookies and whiskey.
What else could I possibly need?
What traditions will be celebrating this season?

5 Comments

Filed under Holidays

5 responses to “Christmas Cookie Weekend 2008

  1. Just caught up to your Christmas TT. Loved it! We bake sugar cookies and frost them as our Christmas cookie tradition. Haven’t done that one yet, but here’s a link to last year’s.

    Had my Christmas choir concert tonight(my mom and I are both altos.) That’s a Christmas tradition I just can’t live without.

  2. We just celebrated St. Nick Night (12/05) and during the next week, I’ll be working on my candy and cookies. I bumped up some fattening recipes on my blog if you need new cookie or candy recipes :-). Other than that, we’re laying low until Christmas Eve and Day.

  3. Jen

    Ooooo some of those cookies look familiar, Julia!!!! I love that. And I hope you get to do a few this year.
    Heading over to your blog now, Sandi. You know, of course, I’ve got some for you.

  4. Oh yummy! Wanna send some to the pregnant Canadian??

    I have to make my haystacks which is no bake chocolate treat that my father’s mother used to make for him.

    I found the recipe about three years ago, and I made them. My Dad broke down and said he hadn’t had one since his mother died 20 years ago. I had no idea my grandmother made them, so it was a cool connection. 🙂

  5. I think I’ll make my cookies next weekend – for me there are two kinds that I always make – Chocolate Jumbles and Peanut Butter Kisses. Sometimes I try decorated sugar cookies but the chocolate cookies are sooooooo good.

    As for husbands that tell you something is good but not AS good – I say screw ’em for me it’s Aunt Marg’s meatballs that I can’t quite replicate.

Leave a Reply

