Another post of randomness

It seems that I’ve been all over the map the last few weeks. So, this post is just some random stuff that’s come up for me.

“A Rock and a Dead Place” is progressing along. I’ve got 242 pages (aiming for 325) and I know it will need some editing and fleshing out. But the major points are there. I’ve kind of fallen in love with Micah, who needs a bit more backstory added to be fully understood. Funny, Micah was a foster kid whose real parents were neglectful, but he’s much better adjusted than Antonia, the heroine, who took on a pile of guilt just for shits and giggles. Maybe it’s just a matter of opportunity. I think Micah was forced to face his demons at an early age. Antonia glided through life blissfully unaware of the gaping hole in her soul.

Sales of late have been pretty dismal. The economy being what it is, I know people are cutting back, so I’m not too surprised. I’ve dealt with it by buying a book for all my family this year. Even the Millionaire’s wife is getting a book. It’s my way of supporting the publishing business. And I didn’t buy big names. I tried to find people who are what’s called “midlist” or even just starting out.

I planned on canning more this year for Christmas gifts, but somehow it never materialized.

Today we’ll be going to Clendenan’s, a local place, to buy apples for applesauce. It’s a tradition. Clendenan’s apple cider and local produce around Thanksgiving is something we do every year. We didn’t get to buy our pumpkins there this year, so I’m looking forward to it.

Talking about money makes my stomach hurt these days.

Amazon loves me this year.

Christmas Cookie weekend will probably happen, but I’ll be alone. It’s kind of sad.

I sold my novella “A Dangerous Exchange” to Liquid Silver Books for their new Sterling line. LSB has developed this line for sweeter romances. This story will be in an anthology coming out next March and it will be a Jennifer McKenzie story.

And on Twitter, Santa Clause reminded me there’s 33 days left until Christmas. I need more coffee. LOL.

How’s THAT for random? LOL. So, what’s up with you?

9 Comments

Filed under Whatever category

9 responses to “Another post of randomness

  1. Talking about money kind of makes my stomach hurt too. Tough times this year though gas prices keep falling every single day. The only bright light!

    Glad to hear the writing is chugging along. Congrats on the sale. And I feel you on the sales being down…

    Have fun at Clendenan’s!

  2. Kym

    33 days! No, no…I haven’t bought even one present.

  3. Jen

    Yeah, those lower gas prices have saved Christmas at our house.
    Oh no, Kym!!!!! Are you waiting for the day after Thanksgiving? *shudders*

  4. I hear ya. I’m really being picky about my purchases this year but thankfully I’ve been finding some good sales. Honestly? I just haven’t found my Christmas self yet. I think the economy has me so buggered up that it’s really preventing the spirit from hitting me. I don’t think a tree will help ‘cuz that will be another $40 or so bucks so the drain. I do have most of my shopping done but loved ones are getting a lot less this year. It will be all about the kiddos.

  5. Jen

    That’s pretty much how we’re doing it this year. I really miss Michelle. She was always good at getting me into the spirit of things. Usually with Whiskey.

  6. I’m doing Black Friday this year if you want to come along and throw some elbows :-).

  7. Ah yes… Christmas will be on a budget for the Kinsons as well, since the dh is in the travel business and with this economy, who the hell is travelling!?!
    I think giving books is a mah-vel-ous idea and digging past the Nora’s and Stephen’s is a wonderfully supportive thing for your fellow authors. Kudos.

  8. Sue

    Congrats on the new sale! YAY YOU!! How many does that make this year?!

  9. Jen

    I totally can’t wait to brave the maddening crowd with ya’ Sandi.
    And Wylie, I hope your dh is able to find some takers for travel. Maybe people will stay local.
    Sue, dahling! Thanks. This makes *thinks* two novellas and two novels I think.

Leave a Reply

