Is It Over Yet? Just Sayin’

To The Candidates, The Pundits and The Redneck
I love my politics. When the season begins, I rub my hands together with unrestrained glee and tune into CNN for my daily dose. Not anymore. This election has tested my love for “the game”. The nasty feeling from both sides has been a damper on my political enthusiasm. I enjoy the sparring, but you have taken this fight far beyond the “sparring” stage. It’s sad, really. Rather than being able to celebrate our differences, we bludgeon those who disagree with us. Rather than enjoying the fact that we live in a country where “differences” are given a platform, we attack, attack, attack. This year, instead of the candidates being the ones behaving badly, I’ve noticed the common guy has taken up the cry for blood. Even my poor mother, who generously opened her home to an old friend, was under constant verbal criticism for her political opinion. The word “bitter” is tacked onto those who believe one way and “rabid” is tacked onto the other side. It’s almost enough to sour my love of politics. But no worries. It won’t keep me from the polls.
Just Sayin’

To Those For And Against Proposition 8
Here in California, you’ve been pressing hard for the votes you need tomorrow. Enough is enough. I counted. Forty-two times. That’s how many times I saw your ads. Both of you managed to ruin EVERY television show I watched last weekend. From CNN to ABC, even Nickelodeon. The worst part? I’m pretty sure how I’m going to vote and the ads just piss me off. Do these ads really work on the undecided? Just because you say something a million times doesn’t make it true. And what’s with the sign issues? If someone has a sign in their yard, and you don’t agree with their stand, why would you take their sign down? What possible satisfaction can you get from that? *shakes head* This election has stumped me.
Just Sayin’

To NaNoWiMo
Every year, you come around and create insanity. A novel in thirty days!!! Impossible word count goals!!!! Everyone is frantically writing and pushing and INSANE!!! Then, I almost can’t resist. It’s like a black hole that sucks me in and I have a little voice in my head softly saying, “Do it. Do it. DO IT.” But I won’t, damnit. Rules, structure, PRESSURE are all things I don’t do well with. I’m a free spirit!!! I don’t follow the crowd. But damn….it’s tempting.
Just Sayin’

To My Writer Friends Who Are Doing NaNoWiMo
You’re crazy, but I admire you. Go, you guys go!!!!!
Just Sayin’

NASCAR
I don’t like what you’ve done to the sport. Kyle Busch has won a ton of races at the beginning of the season, but because of the new rules for the points race, he isn’t even in the top ten. And Jimmy Johnson is boring the hell out of me. I want the guys who WIN races to get more points than the guy who “plays it safe” and comes in ninth. It’s about risk, adrenaline, some strategy. But if racing becomes all cerebral and risk becomes penalized, it isn’t racing anymore. It’s driving around in a circle. You’ve been tweaking this process for years. REWARD THE WINNERS, DAMNIT.
Just Sayin’

To My Characters in My New Book
There’s only so much I can do. I’m not a damn archeologist. And if I wanted to do this much research, I’d have written a historical. You’re driving me batty, as usual. I’m still trying to figure out why you’re making me find out what evidence there is for human sacrifice by the Aztec. Did you know the internet is crawling with misinformation? Yeah, there’s nothing like emailing a noted archeologist and saying, “I’m a romance writer who often has the word “cock” in my stories. Can you give me information that you went to school for six years to learn?” I’m sure he’ll get right on that. Can’t you just go with something I already know?
Just Sayin’

12 Comments

Filed under Just Sayin

12 responses to “Is It Over Yet? Just Sayin’

  1. I can’t wait for this election to be over – there are morons on both sides of this now. Listening on the Radio this morning and they allowed people 30 seconds to pitch their candidate and some people were articulate and had well thought out pitches. Most were morons. I’m going to blog about it because it’s too much for a comment and some of it is too funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Kym

    I can just see that prim old archeologist sitting right down to pen you an essay!

    I’ll chuckle about this the rest of the day. Thanks again for making laugh so often.

  3. Jen

    I can’t wait to read it Tricia.
    And Kym LMAO!!!! He didn’t. He was short and to the point. We’ll see where this conversation goes.

  4. i was in CAli during the last election.. and i was kinda stunned…you get used to the fact that NOBODY pays annny attention to DC …and then wham…wow..america DOES care…cool…
    this year i kinda get the feeling that it goes double..EVERYWHERE folks are planning to vote…its kinda awesome…
    but next week it will go back to just US having to listen to the darn political ads..

    xoxo

  5. Amen sister. I feel your pain. I’m going out of town until Thursday and I will not be watching one bit ‘o news if I can help it.

  6. Jen

    You know, SB, I always used to rant and rave about the general population who preferred to remain apathetic. I don’t think I’ll be complaining about that again. Well, not this week anyway.
    And Sandi, have a wonderful time. Your blog looks AWESOME. Just sayin’.

  7. I gotta say, that’s probably the best way to get what you need from the guy….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Jen

    I don’t know, VBC. It’s not working so far. LOL.

  9. I can’t wait for Wednesday. Of course then we’ll have to listen to all the reasons why (insert candidate) did NOT win and why the other guy (insert candidate) did. They’ve just about killed me in this election.

    And thanks Jen for all you did on Halloween. Really … I think I love you! LOL! Just sayin, chicka …

  10. Jen

    You know, Nina, I had a blast. Call me ANYTIME. Really.

  11. Lex

    Gawd do I hear you on NaNo. I’m not gonna do it, but everyone and their mother told me to. It’s really not my thing and at my age I shouldn’t have to say that more than once. Like you, I admire the hell out of those who are doing it and I don’t mind doing Word Wars with those ladies. I get my word count up by trying to keep pace for a couple of days. That works for me. The rest of the time, I kick back read and ogle them all as they’re writing their fingers to the nubs.

Leave a Reply

