As The Camera Burns….(another installment in the Brett Winn story)

DISCLAIMER: The following installment is for entertainment only in an effort to blackmail my way in obtain membership into the secret 22. Any blind stab at the truth in Brett Winn’s life is completely by accident.

“Damnit!” Brett’s fingers fumbled with the camera and almost dropped the thing. What had he been thinking? He couldn’t run his brother’s equipment. But he managed to figure it out as the sun beat through the car window.
He was in the parking lot of the local Target store and prepared to make an Underground video while his brother Judd vacationed in Belize. Camera in hand, he strode into the double doors and the cool air wooshed over his skin.
As he aimed the camera at a few of the women in the store, he realized how cut off from the opposite sex he had become. Even his take on romance was a bit skewed. Oh get over it, Winn. All he had to do was take a few shots of women in Target, lay on the French accent and post the video.
He’d gotten some great footage of nice looking women and was about to call it a day when a dark haired woman with a pretty blue shirt. He tried his usual line.
“Hi. I’m Brett. I’m with Titan Arts Media. Can I take your picture?” His voice trailed off when she turned to meet his gaze.
It was her eyes. Dark, mysterious, exotic, Brett experienced an instant connection. But his brain froze and his tongue seemed numb. He became aware that his mouth had dropped open and he stared at her like a hungry man at a big meal.
Real smooth, Winn.
“What’s the picture for?” Her voice, smooth and low, match the rest of her.
Somehow, he managed to find words to say though they stumbled over his lips. “It’s for..” What was it for? Blank. he’d gone blank. Her eyebrows rose and he knew he was in trouble. “My brother and I make videos. It’s a way to get our work on the internet.”
“I see. And how would a video of me be used to help you promote your work?”
Was he really going to tell her that he planned on doing a voice over the video in a fake French accent with hopefully amusing results? Was he really going to admit that his whole concept was about filming beautiful women at a Target store?
“Well, this particular one is a bit of a joke really.” Oops. Wrong thing to say. He noted her shoulders instantly stiffened and her eyes narrowed.
“A joke? Look, what exactly are you doing. Do I need to call security?”
“No! Really. I’m not a stalker or anything. Well, I mean, this video has those elements but-” He was digging himself in deeper and deeper. “Listen, why don’t you let me show you the end results. I promise. If you don’t think it’s funny, I’ll erase it.”
She studied him with distrust. “How do I know you’ll erase it?”
He grinned. He’d been told once he had a boyish grin so he laid it on this woman now. “Don’t I look trustworhy?”
“You look like a guy with a camera taking video of women at a Target store. What do you think?”
“Good point.” He frowned and sighed. “I don’t know how to convince you.” He dug in his wallet. “Here’s my card. I’m not a stalker, honestly.”
Her lips tightened as she glanced at the card and back at Brett’s face. “Alright. I shouldn’t, but you can film the back of my head. Not my face. And I want to see the end results.”
Not exactly the way Brett wanted to spend time with this woman, but he’d take what he could get. “Fine. My cell phone number is on the card. Your name is?”
For a moment, he thought she wasn’t going to tell him. Finally, she gripped her purse handle and squared her shoulders. “My name is Melissa.” She thrust her hand toward him.
He took her hand in his for a brief touch and it told him one thing.
There was definitely some chemistry there, but he was going to have to prove he wasn’t a creepy stalker. How the hell was he supposed to do that?

Stay tuned.

2 Comments

Filed under Brett Winn's Romance

2 responses to “As The Camera Burns….(another installment in the Brett Winn story)

  1. They seriously should let you in… but only after you get them laid. Er, fictionally speaking that is. šŸ˜‰

  2. Jen

    Yeah, absolutely Winter. I was kind of hoping they would relent BEFORE I have to write that sex scene. But you know I will. I’ll have to put a big old warning up when I post that scene.

Leave a Reply

