An Olympic Just Sayin’

To The American Olympic Team
So far, what I’ve seen shows that you’ve got class. From the Fencing finals (who knew I’d like Fencing?) where the U.S. took Gold, Silver and Bronze, to the amazing relay race with four outstanding American swimmers, you all have shown incredible talent and NO trash talk. I’m so grateful. Let me tell you a little secret. The 2000 Olympics put a bad taste in my mouth with all the American bullying in track and swimming. When 2004 rolled around, I couldn’t drum up any enthusiasm. By that time, many heroes from 2000 had been caught for doping and our overall image was so bad I just couldn’t get into Athens. But this year, you all have captured my imagination. To Katie Hoff who missed winning her swimming Gold by .001 against the Brits and Michael Phelps who refused to comment or respond to French trash talk to the Redeem Team who shows unusual humility, I look forward to watching the 2008 Olympics. You guys rock. All of you.
Just Sayin’

To Bob Costas
I can’t tell you how disappointed I was (and still am) in your coverage of the opening games. And I have to say NBC isn’t doing a very good job of inspiring unity. I don’t know what you all are doing, but this is the biggest sporting event in the world. You’d better step up to the plate. So far, you’ve just been hitting strikes. My favorite was when Micheal Phelps was qualifying and he broke the Olympic record when he did it. When asked why he was so fast in the prelims Micheal answered he wanted to make sure he had the fastest time and went into the finals in the number one slot. The commentators interpretation of that? That he wanted to “send a message” to his fellow swimmers that he was going to win gold. Really? That’s NOT what I heard. In fact, all you guys have been a tad bitter and snide this year. What’s up with that?
Just Sayin’

To My Blog Readers
I’m going to be having surgery tomorrow so my posts may be sporadic. BUT maybe I’ll have some really cool surreal posts since I may be on some good drugs. Nah, they probably won’t give me any. LOL. The point is, I’ll try and keep it interesting but keep in mind that I may be under the influence of morphine. Well, a girl can dream can’t she?
Just Sayin’

To My Family
As you left Sunday to start this week long insanity we’re heading into, I found myself really missing you. Especially you dirt-faced Okie kids. I give you a bad time, but I love you a ton. It was so weird having you gone. And Demolition Boy, thanks for leaving your teddy bear for me. I actually needed him last night.
Just Sayin’

To The Media
You want to tell us what’s REALLY going on in Georgia? I mean, how many times has U.S. representatives used the terms “Peacekeepers” and “Precise strikes to military targets”? We’re all condemning the Russian aggression in Georgia but what started it? Why is this happening? Was this disputed territory South Ossita something that’s come up before? I am so tired of getting commentary instead of facts. What the hell is going on? The Russians claim civilians were killed within their borders. The Georgians claim the Russians are aggressors. The media isn’t giving a clear picture at all.
All in all, I’m confused. Your job is to report the news. Go find out what’s REALLY going on.
Just Sayin’

16 Comments

Filed under Just Sayin

16 responses to “An Olympic Just Sayin’

  1. Good luck with your surgery. I know you’re tough so you’ll be on the mend super quick. Just let me know if you need anything.

  2. Jen

    Thanks Sandi!!!! I’m think I’ll be okay, but it’s nice to know I have back up.

  3. Good luck with the surgery, I’ll be thinking about you.

  4. Hope your surgery goes well and that you regale us with many a Salvadore Dali-esque tale afterwards.

    What kind of bizarre turn of events has Russians and Georgians kicking the crap out of each other, while at the Olympic Games the Russian and Georgian medal winning women embrace one another – after their 10 meter air pistol final.

  5. Jen

    And I’m the one who is supposed to get medicated. *shakes head* It’s very weird, Julia.

  6. Hey Jen, just checking in to see how surgery went. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  7. Jen

    Sandi, I’m actually having surgery this morning. I’m waiting right now to go in.
    I’ll be out around noon.

  8. Kym

    I hope everything has gone well. Let me know if I can help.

  9. I’m thinking about you and sending you all my best thoughts and hugs!

  10. Jen

    Everything went well and I’m hanging in there. I’ll probably be home tomorrow,

  11. Surgery?! Please call me!

  12. Yeah! I’m glad everything went so well. Get lots of rest and don’t be afraid to ask for help if you need it.

  13. I’m glad the surgery went well. I know it’s taken a lot to get you to that point. If I lived nearby, you know I’d help out. If there’s anything I can do for you at a distance let me know. MUAH!

  14. Jen

    I’ll try and call tomorrow Toni Sue.
    And Sandi, bless you.
    Winter, I know you’d be here in a heartbeat. *mwah* Back at ya’

  15. I can’t wait for the drug induced posts. THAT should be good readin’!

Leave a Reply

