Thirteen Ways You Know You’re A Writer

Did you wonder? Are you questioning it? Is some idiot calling your efforts a “hobby”? Here’s my two cents.

1. You’re in the shower when a scene for book attacks
And you forget it by the time you get dried off.
2. You’ve driven in the car with no radio and composed a scene
and had to wait a week to write it down.
3. You’ve had long conversations with a fictional character
that resemble an interrogation at times.
4. You’ve studied a complete stranger and made up stories about them.
And resisted the intense desire to snap a picture.
5. You’ve been in the middle of an argument with your significant other and thought “This would make a great scene!”
Then been secretly relieved he/she never read it after you wrote.
6. You’ve been in a movie theater, watched the end and thought “NO NO NO!”, went home and wrote a new ending.
7. You’ve called an officer of the law to ask questions that resulted in awkward silence.
8. You’ve had discussions about death and dismemberment with another person that isn’t criminal but has probably landed you on an FBI watch list.
Not to mention those discussions about guns.
9. You’ve ever called sex “research”.
10. You hope your browser history is never investigated.
11. You’ve read a book strictly because you’re trying to research a story
12. You’ve written a story that kills off someone you don’t like.
13. You’ve written a story to give a friend (or yourself) the happy ending they/you always wanted.

14 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thirteen, Writing

14 responses to “Thirteen Ways You Know You’re A Writer

  1. 1. You’re in the shower… Been there/done that. LOL!
    2. You’ve driven in the car … I had the idea for the opening scene of a novel hit me under conditions just like this. I only had to wait a day to write it down, though – thank goodness! (It was the novel which led to meeting my hubby!)
    3. You’ve had long conversations with a fictional character… Every day!
    4. You’ve studied a complete stranger… Half of my motivation for learning Italian is so I can eavesdrop, here. ;)
    5. You’ve been in the middle of an argument… All the time!
    6. You’ve been in a movie theater, watched the end… I haven’t done this, but it’s how I used to deal with nightmares when I was a kid/teen.
    7. You’ve called an officer of the law… Haven’t done this. Yet.
    8. You’ve had discussions about death… Nor this. Yet.
    9. You’ve ever called sex “research”… I plead the fifth.
    10. You hope your browser history is never investigated… Not for the reason you’d think. Heh.
    11. You’ve read a book strictly because… Yeppers!
    12. You’ve written a story that kills off… Sort of, but not quite.
    13. You’ve written a story to give a friend… Not yet. But I’ve had an idea built around this premise, even though I don’t write Fantasy. Yet.

  2. Jenna Bayley-Burke

    Right? I think the worst for our ‘research partners’ if when we’er mid-scene and come running out and make them contort themselves somehow so we can see where things…line up…and then we run away to finish the scene.

  3. Sue

    Yes! Thirteen times, yes! :)

  4. Jen

    There were a bunch more I thought of but I had to restrain myself to 13.

  5. LOL I’m sitting here nodding my head. I’m definitely a writer. Raising hand about interrogating husband.

  6. Like Shelley, I was sitting here nodding my head the whole time I was reading this, thinking “Yep…yep…that’s me”. LOL! Awesome list, Jen! Happy Thursday!

  7. Hehe…reminds me of a t-shirt I have been tempted to buy on many occasions: I’m killing you off in my next novel. Oh…now I’m getting an idea for next week’s T13.

  8. I don’t know if I could wait a whole week. I think I’d be pulled over at the side of the road to write down the basics. When it’s happened to me, I’ve always had someone take over the driving for a bit. They all know me. They understand.

  9. Girlfriend, you hit the nail right on the noggin! I’ve put pen to paper,fingers to typewriter, and hands to keyboards. Writing is in my blood! I wrote my first novel when I was in the sixth grade and my teacher(stole!), uhh_ confiscated my short novel and slipped it in her desk drawer after reading the tryst between my two lovers…
    I love writing. The way your thoughts can come together and form pictures in your mind and let your imagination take you far and wide. And I especially love coming across new authors that I’ve never read before and seeing where their imagination can take me. Your writing is unique and I really enjoyed reading ‘Marked for Death’. Thx you for the space Odyssey and I look forward to reading more of your work.

  10. Opps!! It’s ‘Marked for Danger’, not ‘Death.’ Sorry for the mistake….

Leave a Reply

