Thirteen Old Movies That I Love

There’s a million movies I adore, but these are the ones I watch again and again.

1. The Philadelphia Story
This movie is a really a woman’s journey from being self centered to a loving person. It takes Jimmy Stewart’s reporter character to bring Katherine Hepburn to her senses and the story is hilarious, yet bittersweet.
2. Back To Bataan<
This is a shameless American promotion during WWII and should be watched as such. But there is a poignancy to this story that always gets me. John Wayne plays a part in this one but Anthony Quinn is the “hero”.
3. So Proudly We Hail
Do not watch this movie unless you’re prepared to cry. A lot. Usually, I won’t watch a movie without a happy ending. I should warn you that THIS one doesn’t have one. It’s a hopeful ending, but most definitely not happy. It’s another shameless promotion, but this time of the Red Cross nurses who were involved in WWII.
4. An Apartment For Peggy
I had to think about whether I wanted to put this up here. You can’t find it to watch it. It’s the story of a young couple post WWII. Demobbed, the hero (William Holden) goes to college. There’s so many threads in this story. An old man who feels like he’s useless in the new world and a young wife who must sacrifice so that her husband can advance in life. It’s funny and sad all at once. I saw this movie a long time ago and when I went to look for it, it was nowhere to be found. I got an imported copy but it took time and effort. It was worth it to me.
5. Since You Went Away
Made during WWII, this story is filled with some of what it was like at home while the boys were off fighting. It’s character driven with Jennifer Jones giving a very good performance. It’s not a heavy movie, but I love it.
6. Hellfighters
Loosely based on the life of Rhett Adair, this movie is…well…awesome to me. It might have something to do with my Dad’s love of John Wayne, but this is a great story with great characters.
7. Stagedoor
Watching Katherine Hepburn and Ginger Rogers exchange quips and barbs is FANTASTIC! This movie shows the backstage stories of Broadway in a different light. Again, it’s all about character and it’s full of characters.
8. The Women
This movie never shows any of the men. It’s a fascinating story about women and how they interact, how they love, betrayal and friendship.
9. Now, Voyager
This is a bittersweet love story. It does NOT have a happy ending for the main love story, but it’s a satisfying ending. It’s worth watching as is most anything with Bette Davis.
10. All About Eve
This story is brilliantly done, giving several POVs to show the story. It’s definitely worth finding it and watching it.
11. Sands of Iwo Jima
Does NOT have a happy ending. Makes me cry every. Single. Time. I still love this movie.
12. The Maltese Falcon
I love Humphrey Bogart. (“Sabrina” almost made the list) This is Bogie as Sam Spade and it’s my favorite.
13. Shadow of Doubt
Alfred Hitchcock is brilliant and several of his movies could have made this list. But this one was set in Santa Rosa, California. I love this one.

6 Comments

Filed under Thursday Thirteen

6 responses to “Thirteen Old Movies That I Love

  1. Okay, I feel really bad now because I haven’t seen any of these. LOL. I guess you can probably tell I don’t watch a lot of movies. Great list though! Happy Thursday, Jen! :)

  2. Jen

    Thanks Stephanie! I used to watch American Movie Channel (AMC) back when it played old movies and not Breaking Bad and Walking Dead. Turner Classic Movies has taken over the job of playing the old stuff. Watching movies with my Dad are some of my favorite memories.

  3. You just about can’t go wrong with Katherine Hepburn, in my humble opinion. ;)

    Happy TT!

  4. A lot of these are new to me.

  5. Love old movies, and have seen several of those listed. Two of my faves are The Philadelphia Story and The Maltese Falcon.

Leave a Reply

